Wesley's Christian Education Ministry goes back to the very founding of the church. Our current ministry team includes volunteer teachers who provide weekly classes from Labor Day through the first or second week of June, a week-long Vacation Bible School Program in the summer, a Women's Sunday School Class, an Adult Bible Study, Confirmation classes, and Membership classes.
In 2017, we kicked off our Small Group Ministry here at Wesley. These groups are meant to allow connections on a more personal level, build up one another, journey through life together, and further relationships with God. The goal is to help both individuals and the congregation as a whole grow stronger in relationships and faith. Life can be a challenge, and spiritual support is important in the Christian walk.
The United Methodist Women provide an opportunity to
engage in Christian activities
both within the church and in
the community. Each month,
they meet together and have
a program and/or presentation on a particular aspect of the ministry. This group, which is connected to the larger United Methodist Women's organization of the UMC, works to provide the needs of those around the world in addition to meeting needs of those here at home.
Meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month from September through June with the exception of winter months, when they meet the Sunday prior following 10:30 AM Worship.
All women are welcome!
Wesley's United Methodist Men usually meet on the 2nd Monday of the month to have a meal together, share a devotional, hear a presentation, and discuss
the business of the group. Through their fundraising efforts, the group has provided fellowship opportunities to our congregation and the community and has also been able to make donations to local ministry organizations.
All men are welcome!
Wesley Church is blessed
with a rich history in music. Currently, we have a
regular praise team and organist who play for the contemporary and traditional worship services, respectively. During non-COVID circumstances, we have a very active Chancel Choir that sings twice a month and presents both Easter and Christmas Cantatas. In addition, we are thankful to have special music by some of the youth, some of whom sing in the Cherub choir while others play instruments such as the harp, the violin, the cello, the piano, and more.
The Outreach Committee is one of our busiest ministries. Wesley UMC loves to support local, regional, and global mission teams and/or organizations.
We are always looking for new members for the committee. Outreach meets monthly on the second Wednesday of the month at 6 PM in the church library.
"About Wesley United Methodist Church"
Prepared for the Bicentennial - 1987
"Two Centuries of Service 1787-1987"
Class Meetings ~ Brown's Meeting House ~ Wesley Chapel ~ Wesley Church
Compiled by Joan Hoffman Porterfield and the History Committee
Mrs. Norville E. (Helen) Baker ~ Mrs. A. Paul (Geraldine) Garrett
Mrs. Lester A. (Virginia) Houck ~ Mrs. Carl D. (Ruth) Rill
I kneel in prayer to the Father,
From whom every family in heaven and on earth takes it name,
That out of the treasures of His glory
He may grant you strength and power through His Spirit in your inner being;
That through faith Christ may dwell in your hearts in love,
With deep roots and firm foundations, may you be strong to grasp, with all
God's people, what is the breadth and length and height and depth
Of the love of Christ,
And to know it, though it is beyond knowledge.
So may you attain to fullness of being, the fullness of God himself.
Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 86-051281
WESLEY UNITED METHODIST CHURCH
3239 Carrollton Road Hampstead, Maryland 21074
This Book is Dedicated...
TO THE PEOPLE who started and attended the Class Meetings, built and attended Brown's Meeting House, Wesley Chapel, and Wesley Church.
TO ALL THOSE FAITHFUL SERVANTS who have passed on and to those who are now living, and those upon whom rests the responsibility for the future of Wesley Church.
TO THE CIRCUIT RIDERS AND PREACHERS who led their congregations, large or small, from the earliest meetings to the present.
THE CHURCH IS NOT ONLY A BUILDING. IT IS THE PEOPLE. These people - living or dead or yet to be born - ARE WESLEY CHURCH.
An Ancient Prayer
God of our life, there are days when the burdens we carry chafe our shoulders and weight us down;
When the road seems dreary and endless, the skies grey and threatening;
When our lives have no music in them, and our hearts are lonely, and our souls have lost their courage.
Flood the path with light, we beseech Thee; turn our eyes to where the skies are full of promise;
Tune our hearts to brave music, give us the sense of comradeship with heroes and saints of every day;
And so quicken our spirits that we may be able to encourage the souls of all who journey with us on the road of life,
To Thy honor and glory.
The writing of the history of the Class Meetings, Brown's Meeting House, Wesley Chapel, and Wesley Church has been made possible by the help of many people whose cooperation is greatly appreciated. Much research has been done to make this book as accurate as possible, considering the time and resources available. We hope that we did not miss anyone or any facts that should have been included. If we did, we sincerely apologize and would appreciate it if you would write down the facts and leave it with the church office for future reference.
We are indebted to those who wrote the previous history booklets of 1948 and 1965, and especially the late Mr. Thomas W. Buchman for much of the information therein.
Our thanks to the many John Allgire relatives who graciously shared their photographs and family histories: Mrs. Grace Allgire, Mrs. Shirley Allgire Raver, G. Watson Algire, Archie C. Allgire, Julia and Everett Davidson, Roland and Lamora Dell, LaRue and Sterling L. Green, Mrs. Nancy Knight, Mrs. Etta Ruth Heird, Miss Mary Jane Stull, and many others.
We thank Mrs. Reatha Krebs Osborn for making the sketch of the John Allgire Home and of the William Chenoweth Home. Also many thanks to our neighbors and friends Ralph and Dorothy Walsh, Bob Myers, Tom Appler, Gertrude and Bob Basler, and Marvin Myers. Information received on the Chenoweth Family History from Mr. and Mrs. John E. Chenoweth and on the Brown Family from Mrs. Nancy Fratt and also Mrs. Violet Jersey is greatly appreciated.
Much historical data was made available through our many local historians and genealogists: Sterling Hoover, George Horvath, Susan R. Bloom, Joe Getty, and Maryland Historians, John McGrain, Richard Parsons, Robert Barnes, Lillian B. Marks, and Rev. Edwin Schell of the Lovely Lane Methodist Museum.
Our special thanks to Dr. David Dougherty for his editorial assistance and helpful suggestions which greatly improved the manuscript.
We are deeply indebted to Bob Porterfield of Porterfield's Photography for his donation of time and photographs for this booklet and his help with layout and design.
I am especially thankful for the excellent cooperation and help of the History Book Committee and the General Anniversary Committee in making possible this 200th Anniversary Celebration.
I am grateful for the very able and willing help of Rev. Bert Lane.
JOAN HOFFMAN PORTERFIELD
REV. ALBERT K. LANE III
Wesley United Methodist Church
General Chairperson: Mrs. Robert E. (Joan) Porterfield
Planning: Mr. and Mrs. Norville E. (Helen) Baker Mrs. A. Paul (Geraldine) Garrett Mrs. Walter R. (Betty) Hitchcock Mrs. Charles D. (Linda) Hollman Mr. and Mrs. Lester A. (Virginia) Houck Mrs. Carl D. (Ruth) Rill Rev. Albert K. Lane, III
History: Mrs. Norville E. (Helen) Baker Mrs. A. Paul (Geraldine) Garrett Mrs. Lester A. (Virginia) Houck Mrs. Carl D. (Ruth) Rill
Drama: Mrs. Walter R. (Betty) Hitchcock Mrs. Larry (Rae) Leeds
Souvenirs: Mrs. Carl D. (Ruth) Rill
Two hundred years ago the region in Baltimore County, just south of Hampstead and west of the Hanover Pike, was populated by a proud, hardworking, and mostly self sufficient people. Many farmed. A few quarried rock out of the earth. A few others were in the lumber business. And a few operated mills to grind grain and ran businesses where local products could be sold or traded for luxury goods" produced in or imported through Baltimore.
Two hundred years ago the community of faith meeting at the John Allgire home provided for the spiritual wellbeing of this relatively stable group of families with last names like Brown, Ebaugh, Chenoweth, and, of course, Allgire. The gatherings of these Christians around the irregular visits of horsebackriding preachers who read the Scriptures, spoke the Word, and instructed their listeners as to a holy way of life, were social as well as religious occasions. Before and after the services, meals were shared, news was reported, and friendships were formed.
Times have changed and we, who trace our heritage back to that community of Browns, Ebaughs, Chenoweths, and Allgires, are a different people. We call ourselves Wesley United Methodist Church, and we are four hundred members strong. We worship in a fine sanctuary that is only a small portion of a beautiful church complex located in Carroll County. A few of us still farm, but our farms are now large businesses. Some of us are professionals. Others own their own businesses or labor in construction, manufacturing, and service industries.
Many of us commute to work. We are an ever changing, transient people who do not necessarily expect the faith community to be the center of our social lives. But we do continue to expect this community to be the place where the Scriptures are read, the Word is spoken, and a right and moral way of life is taught ... in this, we, who live in 1987, are not so different from our ancestors who worshipped in the Allgire home in 1787.
The following is a record of the people called Wesley United Methodist Church who have worshipped and ministered continuously since 1787. May this history, with God's help, bring us to a better understanding of who we are in 1987 and help guide and instruct us as we move into our third century!
REV. ALBERT K. LANE, III
Carroll County and The Methodist Movement
Strawbridge Log Meeting House
Carroll County is the birthplace of American Methodism. On a farm four miles from New Windsor along the Sam's Creek in what was then Frederick County, Robert and Elizabeth Strawbridge settled their family around 1760. They were immigrants from Ireland who were drawn to the New World. The farm was leased from a respected Quaker, John England. England would become, in June 1766, the first member of another denomination to transfer membership into the Methodist movement. (The Strawbridge farm is now a United Methodist Shrine, and is open to the public. In addition to the original Strawbridge home (much renovated), the original John Evans home has been moved to the site and rebuilt. A replica of the first Methodist Meetinghouse has been constructed.)
The Strawbridges became Methodists while living in Drumsna, Ireland in the 1750s. Records indicate Methodist activity in that town as early as 1753, and John Wesley visited the place three times between 1758 and 1762. The enthusiastic lay-oriented movement caught the imagination and spirit of Robert, so that shortly after his family's settlement in New Windsor he began holding religious meetings in his home. Francis Asbury, the first Methodist bishop, wrote in his Journal after a visit to the Strawbridge home in 1801, "Here Mr. Strawbridge formed the first society in Maryland - and America."
A neighbor, John Evans and his family, became the first American converts to Methodism in the mid-1760s. By 1768, Evans was leading the "Pipe Creek Society" in his home near Taylorsville, which was built specially to accommodate his family and the society meetings.
The first Methodist Meeting House was built a short distance from the Strawbridge property near the present community of Marston sometime between 1764 and 1766. Numerous Methodist Societies were founded and Methodist meetinghouses built within the present boundaries of Carroll County before the end of the 18th century. Some of these, like that of our ancestors who met at the home of John Allgire and then at Brown's Meeting House, were Methodist-based societies ministering to people of various faiths. (Much of the information for this article was secured from Baker, 1972.)
Social and Economic Conditions
In the 1770s when our founding fathers came to the area now known as Houcksville and Wesley Church, it was barren country -barren of people and of homes. The land was uncultivated and settlers had to clear trees in order to build homes and plant crops.
These pioneers were the sons and daughters of immigrants from many other countries. John Brown's father had come from England and had settled in the Westminster area. George Ebaugh's father had arrived at Philadelphia from Switzerland then migrated to what is now the Shiloh area west of Hampstead. William Chenoweth's family was from England, and John Allgire's roots were in Germany.
The pioneers built their homes of logs. Later, stones from the fields were used. Before bricks were being hand made in this country, the only brick available would be from ballast used on a ship.
Farming was the principal occupation. But many talents were needed in order to survive. Blacksmiths, millers, and laborers came to the area. These early families were largely self-sufficient. They raised their own meat and vegetables, made their own clothes, candles, furniture, had their own orchards and provided all necessities they could for themselves. They relied on their neighbors for companionship outside the family and help in case of emergency. They relied on the land and on God to supply the well-being for their crops and themselves. Grist mills were built to grind grain for flour. The 1862 map shows that Houck's Store was one of the earliest stores. This was almost one hundred years after the first settlers arrived.
There were no physicians, but there were many epidemics. It was not unusual to have families of ten to fifteen children. A large percentage of the children in some families died at birth or at an early age from injury or sickness. These surviving sons and daughters were needed to help on the farm.
Family burial grounds on the farm were the custom before church grave yards were available. The early graves were marked with a field stone (native stone) set on its edge into the ground. Sometimes initials were carved into the stone. Many of these early family burial grounds have now disappeared.
Transportation was by horseback, horse and wagon, or walking. It was more than one hundred years until the railroad come to the area and even later that automobiles were invented. In 1907 the Trustees of Wesley Chapel were still planting hitching posts. The paths from one community to another and from one neighbor to another later became roads. Houcksville Road progressed from dirt to stones in the 1920s.
Communication from one place to another was slow, if accomplished at all. In 1800 a Post Office was established in Westminster, and in 1818 in Hampstead. Houck's Store became the nearest post office in 1849.
The biggest industry in the area besides the grist and saw mills was the Hoffman Paper Mill established about 1845. Brown wrapping paper was made from straw and shipped by horse and wagon, and later by railroad, to Baltimore.
Early official records are spotty, but the earliest tax assessment was in 1783 and the earliest Federal Census was taken in 1790. Carroll County was established in 1837 from portions of Baltimore and Frederick Counties. The Wesley area, was then located in the Pipe Creek Hundred of Baltimore County. Land deeds of that time period give us the men's names only, unless they sold some land. Then after signing the documents the woman was taken aside to another room and asked if she agreed to this sale taking place. This permission was written at the end of the deed and usually her name was mentioned.
The early Family Bible records provide the most complete records about the settlers. Many of the Bible records are written in German or whatever the native language was until a family member learned to write in English. Formal education started in the area in the mid-1800s, about eighty years after the first families arrived.
As early as 1820 some of the children of these founding families left home to be pioneers themselves in the unsettled areas westward to Ohio. This Westward movement continued for many more generations. Was this area becoming too civilized for them? Or were they in search of adventure? Maybe they moved West because their parents had proved it could be done.
Home Class Meetings
It is not possible to establish the time when the first Methodist Class Meeting was held in the community now served by Wesley United Methodist Church. It is certain that such meetings were held as early as 1787 in the home of John Allgire and that this home continued to be the center of activity for the Methodist-based society until the Brown's Meeting House was built in 1800.
John Allgire was born about 1745. It is very likely that his father was John Allgire I, who lived south of Pikesville at Seven Mile Lane, the only known Allgire in Maryland at this time. John Allgire I had been born in Germany and probably migrated to America by 1750. He was an Innkeeper and tailor. In his will, probated May 27, 1764, he mentions a son John. There is good reason to believe that this John Allgire is ours and that his brother Jacob migrated to this area from Pikesville by the 1760s and founded what is now St. Paul's Lutheran Church at nearby Arcadia, MD. Following the death of his father in 1764, John probably came to live with his brother Jacob at Arcadia. Records show that John did not stay at the family business in Pikesville, and that his sister and brother-in-law did continue to be Innkeepers.
No records have been found to identify the wife of John Allgire. Thomas W. Buchman's genealogical records identify her as Ruth Brown. Also in John Brown's will, probated in 1810, he mentions his daughter Ruth Allgire. This is the same John Brown on whose land Brown's Meeting House was built. John Allgire and Ruth Brown were married about 1768.
The Allgire name has been spelled many ways, including Allgier, Algier, Algire, Allgire, Allgeyer, Allguier, Alguire, Algair, Algaier and Alkries. This was due to the fact that John Allgire could not sign his name in English and was therefore at the mercy of the person writing the document, such as the census, will, land deed, or tax assessment.
John Allgire's first land was purchased in 1774. It contained thirty-two acres and was called "Allgire's Beginning." The 1783 Tax List of Baltimore County, Pipe Creek Hundred, lists John Allgire as owning one hundred seventy-nine acres of land called "Ribbles (Rivel, Ribolts) Folly." The Federal Tax Assessment of 1798 for Baltimore County lists John Allgire as owning four hundred fifty-one acres, "Ribbles Folly." The description was given as follows: Hew'd Log Dwelling House of one and one-half story, twenty-five feet by twenty-two feet by addition of shed twenty-two feet by ten feet; other improvements Log Barn thirty-six feet by twenty-two feet, Log Cornhouse twenty-two feet by twelve feet and Log Smoke House fourteen feet by twelve feet.
The home was built of logs with the main room containing a cooking area, eating area, and sitting area. This room had a cellar under it and was sixteen by twenty-one feet. The foundation (cellar) still exists as the foundation for a summer house built on it in 1888. Attached to the back of this room was a one story lean-to addition of approximately nine by twenty-one feet which contained two bedrooms. Above the main room were two bedrooms in the loft, this being a one and one-half story structure. Class Meetings were held in the main room. The house faced south.
The farm, located about one-half mile northwest of Wesley Church, is presently owned by Everett Allgire Davidson and his wife, Julia. Everett is a great, great, great grandson of John Allgire. The old stone smoke house, ten by twelve feet that at one time had ovens for baking attached to it, is still standing and in good condition. This may be the "log" smoke house mentioned in the 1798 Assessment.
John Allgire and his wife had nine children. Their names and genealogical information are listed in Appendix A of this book. Many of the families are ancestors of present members of Wesley Church and Community.
The 1813 Tax Assessment for Baltimore County, Election District number three, shows that John Allgire owned five hundred eleven and one-half acres. His tracts were "Moses Meadows," "Brown's First Attempt," part of "Hales Venture," and part of "Point Look Out." "Allgires Beginning" was included under the name, "Point Lookout," and "Ribbles Folly" under "Moses Meadows."
John Allgire died in 1834 and his wife about 1840. His will mentioned all nine children including his sons John and Jacob who had moved west to Ohio before 1826. Most of his land was willed to his sons Henry and Nicholas. Henry received the property on which he was already farming and residing, now the property of Wilson and Rosemary Lippy. Nicholas received his father's homestead and all the land surrounding it. When Nicholas died in 1870 the homestead was broken up into sections and sold at public auction. The largest section, which included the homestead, was sold to Frederick Basler. The newspaper advertisement described the location of the property as "on the road from Winchesters Mill (Carrollton) to Brown's Meeting House."
It is believed that John Allgire and his family are buried on the Allgire property. Prior to his son Nicholas' death, a plat was made which showed the location of the homestead and a family burial ground in a field behind the house. Unfortunately, the native stones used as grave markers bear no initials or inscriptions of any kind.
There is good evidence that both Francis Asbury and Robert Strawbridge preached at Allgire's as they traveled from Sam's Creek to points north and east. It was customary to arrive on any day of the week. Runners (young boys) were sent out on horseback to notify the people when the worship service was to be held. If it happened on a weekday the farmers would stop their work and attend the services. This kind of scheduling existed for many years after Brown's Meeting House was built. The preaching appointment was known as "Allgires" and continued to be known in this manner for a time even after the Meeting House was built, as we can see from the Plan of Great Falls Circuit written by Gerard Morgan, pastor 1811-12 to be given to his successor David Stevens:
"Thursday, April 14, 1812, rode from Vaughns (Hampstead) to John Allgires. Had service at Allgires on Friday, April 15 at eleven o'clock."
Brown's Meeting House 1800-1878
By 1797 work was being done in the community by several denominations and a need was felt for a Meeting House. John Brown lived on the farm that lies behind the present church, now owned and occupied by Dorothy and Ralph Walsh. Brown agreed to make available a site for the Meeting House containing approximately one acre.
["]This Indenture [Deed] dated December 27, 1797 for one acre of ground made by John Brown of Baltimore County [now Carroll County] to the Trustees, John Algire, Richard Brown, George Ebaugh and William Chenoweth all of Baltimore County and State of Maryland for the consideration of three pounds [about $8.00] English money, for use of the Episcopalians, Methodists, Presbyterians and Regular Baptists.["]
This original deed is in our possession and also is on file with Baltimore County Land Records Liber WG 53, folio 72. In 1975 this deed of 1797 was restored by a company in Virginia at a cost of $40.00.
On this ground, a log Church containing a gallery was erected in 1800. This log Church was 25x30x16 feet square; clay and stone were put in between the logs, and the floor was almost on the ground, there being only a rise of six inches. [Buchman, 1924]
It had trustles for seats on which loose boards were laid to sit upon. The chancel was erected at such an elevation that it required seven steps to reach it. It was supplied with two cane-seated chairs, a pulpit, a Bible and a hymn book - the only one in the church. The hymn book had only the words, which the minister would read a line at a time and the congregation would sing it and wait to hear the next line and sing it. This was repeated until the hymn was completed and they never omitted verses. At times a song leader would have a book with various kinds of meters and he would use that to set the tune. The pitch was obtained by using a tuning fork. The church was heated by two large ten plate stoves, one on the left and the other on the right side of the church. The stove pipes went up and across so that they were joined at the center and then through the roof. There was no brick chimney. [Shindle, 1965]
This continued until the 1840s when it was remodeled with Samuel and his brother Andrew Houck doing the work. The loose board seats were removed and more comfortable seats were provided. In front were four benches known as mourner's benches. The communion table was made of white pine. Also at this time, the church was plastered on the outside and from time to time was whitewashed. The church was first lighted by candles and whale oil lamps, later by coal oil lamps. [Buchman, 1948]
Brown's Meeting House is said to have resembled the present Dover U. M. Church about six miles southeast of Arcadia.
Brown's Meeting House stood in what is now our present cemetery, in the area where the Frank T. Newbelle lot, Preston Shaver lot, and others are located. It is said that when graves were dug in that area it was common to dig up portions of the old foundation as well as plaster, nails, and other building materials.
The building became dilapidated and the congregation decided to build a new church on an adjoining piece of land. So in the Spirng of 1879 the old log church was sold to James Conrad Hoffman, taken down, and removed. But in doing this, the Trustees learned that according to the old deed, that all right or claim to the ground as church property was vacated and that the ground would return to the heirs at law of John Brown, deceased. The Trustees therefore procured a deed from the heirs of John Brown so that they could continue to own the land and use it as a burial ground.
["]This deed dated February 10, 1879 from Lloyd Brown, of Darke County, Ohio, Jesse Brown and George W. Brown of Carroll County, Maryland, heirs of John Brown to Zachariah Ebaugh, Melchor F. Allgire, John Payne, George W. Keller and George Stull, Trustees.["]
This deed is in our possession and is on file at Carroll County Land Recors Liber FTS 51 folio 185. This deed guaranteed the right of Wesley Chapel to continue ownership of the original tract so long as it is used as a burying ground.
In 1963 some of the furnishings from Brown's Meeting House were placed for historic purposes in the John Evans House near Taylorsville, Carroll County, Maryland. These included two church pews, one mourners bench, a special pew with pulpit chairs, and communion table. In 1976 Wesley's Administr[a]tive Board decided to remove these items from the John Evans House because of the disrepair, neglect, and apparent vandalism of the building. The John Evans House was later moved to the nearby Robert Strawbridge Historic Area and is now part of a display of early Methodism in America. Unfortunately, the pulpit chairs and communion table were never recovered.
The following furnishings from Brown's Meeting House are on display in our buildings: two church pews with backs; two cane-seated chairs; an odd shaped special pew; one mourner's bench; several Bibles from Brown's Sabbath School; a line Hymnal; two handmade offering baskets; handmade communion cloths; a glass decanter used for communion until 1875; and a Pulpit Bible dated 1842. The furniture has been marked with brass plates for identification. A communion decanter and goblet from Brown's Meeting House is in the hands of Archie C. Allgire of Westminster.
Brown's Meeting House Lottery
To speak of lotteries to the present day citizen as a means of raising money for a Protestant Church would be very shocking, but the idea was not reprehensible to Marylanders of the late 1700s and early 1800s. Lotteries were a common means of raising fund. They were used to raise money for buying fire equipment, building new roads, paving streets, building new church or completing churches that had been started, or building Masonic Lodges and many other public buildings. The Washington Monument in Baltimore was funded by one of the largest lotteries ever conducted in the State or the Country.
When lotteries were introduced in America they were run as private enterprises. They became very popular and because there were no restrictions upon them, they became very dishonest. The various States passed laws regulating them. Maryland passed laws which said that no lottery could be run without permission from the Legislature, and that five percent of the proceeds of all lotteries would have to be paid into the State Treasury. From this source the State derived a large annual income during the days of lotteries, for even so large a tax did not deprive the idea of its charm as a means of quickly raising money. Permission was only granted to presumably worthy enterprises.
The applicants had to give bond collectively and individually for the correct conduct of the lottery and the law required that the lottery be completed within five years.
The lottery was most popular from 1820-30. It was outlawed in 1859, but not before many important public buildings had been financed including the Second Presbyterian Church of Baltimore, German Evangelical Reformed Church, The Catholic Cathedral (now Basilica), Washington College in Chestertown, the ground for the University of Maryland Medical School, and possibly even Brown's Meeting House.
The 1803 Legislative Acts of Maryland, Chapter III, state:
Whereas it is represented to this general assembly, by the petition of sundry inhabitants of Baltimore County, that they are unable by subscription to finish a house of public worship which they have erected for the use of the Regular Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterians and Episcopalians, and free for the use of all denominations of christians that come recommended, and have prayed that a law may pass authorizing a lottery to finish the same; therefore, Be it enacted, by the General Assembly of Maryland, That it shall and may be lawful for Benjamin Corbin, Richard Brown, John Myers, Nicholas Brown and Joshua Cockey, or a majority of them, to propose a scheme of a lottery for raising a sum of money, not exceeding fifteen hundred dollars, and to sell and dispose of the tickets thereof; provided that the said Benjamin Corbin, Richard Brown, John Myers, Nicholas Brown and Joshua Cockey, or such majority of them as shall undertake to act under this law, shall, before the sale or disposal of any ticket or tickets in said lottery, give their bond to the State of Maryland, in the penalty of three thousand dollars, conditioned that they will well and truly apply so much of the money arising therefrom, within six months after the drawing of the said lottery shall commence, as will satisfy the fortunate adventurers for prizes drawn by them, and after deducting the necessary expenses incurred in said lottery, shall within two years from the time the drawing of the said lottery shall commence, cause the said house of public worship to be completed and finished in the best manner the sum of money raised by said lottery will admit.
And be it enacted, That the said bond, shall be lodged in the clerk's office of Baltimore County, to be there recorded, and upon such bond, or an office copy thereof, suit or suits may be instituted for any breach or non-compliance with the condition thereof.
Further research does not prove whether or not this lottery was for Brown's Meeting House. We know that the land was deeded in 1797 and tradition tells us that a log church was erected in 1800. If the funds were not available to complete the building, then the 1803 Lottery would fill that need. We do know that Richard and Nicholas Brown were the sons of John Brown who gave the land for Brown's Meeting House, and that Richard Brown was one of the first trustees. We also find that Benjamin Corbin lived in this area of Baltimore County and that he was possibly connected with the Baptist Society in the present St. John's (Leisters) Church area. A John Myers lived in the Woodensburg area and a family by the name of Cockey lived at nearby Arcadia on the Dover Road. We also know that most churches were deeded to one or two denominations and Brown's Meeting House is the only one we know of that was deeded to these four denominations.
It has never been definitely established whether the other denominations ever used Brown's Meeting House. Perhaps these other names indicate that they did share it for a limited time. We may also wonder why money was needed to finish the meeting house. The land was practically given to the congregation and we presume that the materials, as well as the labor to construct the building, were donated by the members.
Rev. Edwin Schell, of the United Methodist Historical Society at Lovely Lane Museum, offers this opinion:
that I have no cause to doubt that the house of worship mentioned [in the Legislative acts] was Brown's Meeting House. The other persons named are not familiar as Methodists, but since the meeting house was to be for the use of four denominations, it seems probably that they represented these groups - and that each group would have wanted a spokesman on the committee to administer the lottery.
Wesley Chapel 1878-1920
Wesley Chapel was built of honeycomb stone quarried on the farm then owned by Michael Walsh and now owned by Lester Houck. It was built in regular oblong form approximately thirty by forty feet and had two front entrance doors. It sat in front of the present Wesley Church and faced east, towards the present parsonage. The front wall of the present Wesley Church and the side (North) wall of Wesley Chapel share approximately the same location.
From the Quarterly Conference Minutes of Hampstead Circuit 1872-1886:
April 21, 1877 Conference held at Union Chapel (Grace) - Melchor F. Allgire, John Payne, Zachariah Ebaugh, George W. Keller, and George Stull were appointed as a building committee to solicit aid to build a new church.
Because the ground for Brown's Meeting House had been deeded to the four branches
(Episcopalians, Methodist, Presbyterians, and Regular Baptists) it was deemed best to secure the location adjoining, owned by George Stull and his wife, for the new church building.
This Deed dated May 28, 1878 for one and one-eighth acre of land made by George Stull and Marietta Stull, his wife of Carroll County, Md. to Zachariah Ebaugh, Melchor F. Allgire, John Payne, George W. Keller, and George Weaver, Trustees, to be used as a place of Divine Worship of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
This deed is in our possession and is on file at Carroll County Land Deeds Liber FTS 50 folio 270.
The new building was begun sometime in 1878. Rev. William E. Bird of Pleasant Grove Charge officiated at the laying of the cornerstone on Monday, June 10, 1878 because Rev. Daniel Haskell was unable to be there.
The mason work was under the superintendence of John Harris, and was put up at the expense of M. F. Allgire at a net cost of $173.87. The carpenter work was under the supervision of William J. Houck, assisted by Jeremiah Ebaugh and son Webster. Cost of carpenter work $175.78, Houck receiving $86.60 and the Ebaughs $89.18. John Payne, George Stull, Zachariah Ebaugh, and George W. Keller contributing liberally, the building was completed at a cost of about $1400.00. It was dedicated on Wednesday, January 1, 1879 by the Presiding Elder, William T. Edwards, with a debt of about $300.00 which was gradually reduced until it was entirely paid. At the Quarterly Conference held on the Campmeeting Ground September 2, 1880, the building committee was enabled to report the entire debt liquidated, and on motion of Rev. D. Benton Winstead, the committee was honorably discharged. (Shindle, 1965)
After the new Church opened for public worship, many things had to be obtained to furnish it, such as stoves, carpeting, sofa, chairs, lamps, boards for the coal house, and numerous other articles. To obtain the necessary funds It was deemed advisable to hold a festival in the adjoining Grove. This took place July 29, 1879. This festival was a success and produced a net income of $85.00, $10.00 was applied to discharging the debt on the Church and the remaining $75.00 were expended in furnishings.
The pulpit and communion table were made by William J. Houck. The pulpit was of white pine and the communion table was walnut and both had marble tops. A large sofa was placed back of the pulpit. Across the front was a lovely ingrain carpet, mostly red but having enough black to show the flowers. The chancel rail was in the shape of a horseshoe and the railing and banisters were made of black walnut. In front of the pulpit stood the communion table with cane-seated chairs (from Brown's Meeting House) on each side. The aisles were covered with cocoa rugs. The pews were second hand, coming from the Old Williams Street Independent Methodist Church in Baltimore. The church was heated by two large coal stoves. There was an oil chandelier in the center which bore six lamps. There were twelve lamps with reflectors, four in front and four on each side wall. These lamps used coal oil, later acetylene gas was used in the church which did not prove to be very satisfactory. (Shindle, 1965)
The earliest Trustees' Minutes tell us that the church had a paid sexton in 1886 and that he received $14.00 per year. The names of the sextons indicate that they always lived nearby and were of all ages, including mature men, young teenage men, and sometimes a widower and his children. In 1886 the total yearly income of the church was $25.26 and the expenses were $24.79 for coal oil, insurance, coal, and the sexton's salary.
About 1895 Wesley Chapel was remodeled. James Bentz of Grace, William Cooper of Trenton, and Noland Belt of Arcadia were the carpenters.
A new steeple was built on the church, much larger than the first. A new wainscoted hopper-shaped ceiling was put up and paneled and trimmed so that it was very beautiful. A new chandelier with several hundred prisms and corrugated reflectors was installed. Thirty-five modern pews were purchased from Globe Furniture Company of Michigan for $300. A ladder was boxed in at the rear of the church to get up in the attic and belfry. A brick pavement was arranged across the front of the church. (Shindle, 1965)
Wesley Chapel had a fine bell for which Miss Elizabeth Armacost had collected the funds. During the remodeling a larger bell was purchased and the old bell was given to Wesley School. The new bell presented quite a problem in the mounting, but Silas Martin devised a plan whereby it was put in place. Much of the old lumber torn out of Wesley Chapel for the remodeling was kept for the purpose of building a storage shed for the old church benches on a site in the present cemetery, behind Wesley Chapel. This shed became known as the "Bench House."
Wesley Chapel was destroyed by fire on the night of September 3, 1920. In preparation for the annual picnic to be held the next day, the men had raked the previously mowed grass from the church yard and cemetery and burned it. Apparently the fire was not completely out when they left, and the wind increased, then blew the sparks onto the wood shingle roof. The roof was scheduled to be replaced with a tin one the following week. The men were able to save some of the furnishings before the heavy bell came crashing down, taking everything with it. There was an air of sadness at the picnic. Many people did not know the church had burned until they arrived for the picnic, which was held just the same.
The cornerstone of Wesley Chapel was later placed in the fuel room of the new Wesley Church. Restrooms are now installed in this area, and the cornerstone can no longer be seen. A few memorabilia from this cornerstone were, however, placed in the cornerstone of the new Wesley Church. The bell was cracked in the fire, then sold for junk.
The first Articles of Incorporation of Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church of Hampstead Circuit, Carroll County, State of Maryland were dated August 27, 1889. The Trustees named were: Melchour F. Allgire, William H.S. Allgire, John Wesley Davidson, H. H. Spahr, and George W. Rill. This document was witnessed by John W. Abbott and Andrew J. Houck. The second and present Articles dated July 16, 1974, change the church name to: Wesley United Methodist Church of Carroll County, Maryland. Both Articles are in our possession.
The following furnishings of Wesley Chapel are being used in Wesley Church: The marble top communion table now used for bulletins in the rear of the sanctuary, a marble top pulpit in the classroom in the undercroft of the church, and twelve oak high-back chairs also used downstairs. Two oak pews, refinished by John W. Rill, are at the south entrance of the educational building. All furniture is marked with brass plates for identification. The communion urn from the silver communion set used after 1875 and communion filler are also on display, as well as the Pulpit Bible (The Parallel Bible) printed in 1890.
Wesley School, also known as Brown's School House, sat on the present Wesley Church property at what is now the corner of Carrollton and Wesley Roads. On December 3, 1860 George Richards, Jr. and his wife Lucinda deeded unto Reuben A. Troyer, Melchour F. Algire and Cornelius Armagost (sic), Trustees of Primary School District number eighty-one "all that house and lot of land known as Brown's School House containing one-fourth acre, to be used for a school house." The land contained a brick school with two rooms. Seven grades attended this school.
There were other one and two room school houses in the vicinity including Houcksville, Brown's (on Neudecker Road), Emory, and Patapsco.
One of the earliest schools was taught in the early 1830s by Sarah Beaseman Murray, second wife of John Baxter Chenoweth, a son of William Chenoweth, one of the first Trustees of Brown's Meeting House. They lived on Emory Church Road, on the present I. Watson Davidson property. Mrs. Chenoweth taught the neighbor children as well as her own in the school her husband built a few yards from the home place.
By 1929 the school students were being bussed to Hampstead School and therefore the one and two room country schools were no longer needed.
On February 20, 1931 the Board of Education of Carroll County sold the Wesley School property to the Trustees of Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church of Hampstead Circuit for $300.00. "The said property having been held by the Grantor and by the Board of School Commissioners, its predecessors in title, continuously, uninterruptedly, and exclusively for a period of more than seventy consecutive years." It was sold "together with the buildings and improvements thereon, and rights of roads, etc." A copy of this deed and the Agreement of Sale are in our possession. The deed is on file at Carroll County Liber EMM, Jr. 155 folio 203.
The Wesley School Building was sold to Elmer Richards and torn down. Some of the bricks were used in a building behind Mr. Richards' home at 814 Houcksville Road. The schoolhouse bell was used at a small Pikesville Baptist Church which is no longer standing. The congregation of this church relocated between Liberty Road and Pikesville. The land where the school stood is a part of Wesley Church parking area.
Wesley School 1920-1921
Left to right: (front row) J. Raymond Rill, G. Franklin Rill, Ralph Barnes, Walter Raver, Eugene Dell, Paul Leather, Donald Henry, Wesley Elseroad, Calvin Peltzer. (second row) Earl Peltzer, Gilbert Wisner, M. Henry Miller, Helen Beam Baker, Louise Taylor Sission, Viola Rill Brooks, Rosella Hughes Bateman, Marie Keulp Frederick, Mildred Peltzer Bowman, Woodrow Raver, Preston Taylor. (third row) Catherine Miller Morlock, Serepta Hughes Dell, Sallie Elseroad Rill, Beulah Lippy Stocksdale, Roberta Snyder Rill Blum, Louise Eby, Thelma Davidson Rhoten, Grace Elseroad Allgire, Winifred Bossom, Alice Rill Martin, Gertrude Taylor Schanberger. (fourth row) Noland E. Basler, Teacher, Joseph Weaver, Roger Evans, Norman Raver, Wilbert Ruby, James Sellers, Roland Dell, Milson Rill, William Chapman, Sterling Dell, John Barnes, Mildred Smith Shaffer, Teacher.
Wesley School about 1890. Mr. John W. Abbott, teacher.
Left to right: (front row) Frank Taylor, Luther Davidson, Newman Snyder, William Shipley, Wilson Zepp, Earl Bankert, Noah I. Rill, Osborn Snyder, Monroe Taylor, John Zepp. (second row) Rose Bolte, Rebecca Taylor, Kate Snyder, Lula Snyder, Julia Sullivan, Lydia Wampler, Estella Elseroad, Alice Reese, Annie Lynch, Clara Sullivan, Penelope Reese. (third row) Missouri Wisner, Elizabeth Basler, Emma Wampler, Ellie Spahr, Grace Abbott, Lucy Zepp, Melvin Stull, Florence Trover, Bertha Elseroad, Kate Zepp. (fourth row) Edward Basler, J. Earnest Snyder, Newton Davidson, Barton Taylor, John Spahr, Charles Zepp, Claude Allgire, Louis Zepp, Will Taylor, Cecil Snyder, James Sullivan.
The bed of the road surrounding Wesley has been changed three times. First, it laid from near the northeastern corner of the Social Hall, continued behind the Hall and present Church and through the back portion of the present cemetery at an angle, ending near the present corner of Houcksville and Carrollton Roads.
Later, it started at the same location, followed behind the hall and present church, and then curved and came up behind Wesley Chapel (beside the present church) and out to Carrollton Road through the cemetery near the Frank T. Newbelle lot where Brown's Meeting House had formerly stood.
As early as 1886 the Trustees of Wesley Chapel were trying to change the public road leading through the Church property. In 1903 the Trustees asked John and Margaret Smith (who owned the present Ralph Walsh property) for fifty-two square perches of land west of the cemetery. This land was deeded to the Trustees to be used for the beginning of the re-routing of the road near the corner of Houcksville and Carrollton Roads.
This deed dated April 28, 1903 by John Smith and Margaret E. Smith, his wife to the Trustees of Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church: John W. Abbott, Joel Ebaugh, Benjamin Croft, John W. Davidson, Silas A. Martin, George W. Rill, William H. S. Allgire, T. Edward Shaeffer and Thomas W. Buchman for 52 Square Perches of Land.
A copy of this deed is in our possession and is on file at Carroll County Land Deeds Liber 97 folio
206 and 207.
The Wampler family, also active members of the church, gave the land for the road to be continued from the corner, on past the cemetery and in front of the present Wesley Church. Permission was also received for the road to pass through the school lot. Mrs. George Stull, also a church member, then completed the road to its present location by giving her permission approaching the corner of Wesley and Carrollton Roads and the area in front of the present parsonage. Having gotten permission from the land owners, the county commissioners proceeded to change the route of the road, thirty feet wide, to the present position.
Camp Meetings, a type of revival service, were a popular activity during the mid to late 1800s. There were several camp meeting grounds located nearby. We know there was one at Linwood in Carroll County and the popular Emory Grove Camp Meeting Ground of the Methodist Episcopal Church is still at Glyndon, in Baltimore County.
Once a year, in August or September, the Hampstead Circuit would hold its camp meeting which lasted one week. Tents were set up and whole families attended, making it a vacation from their usual routine. Guest preachers were invited, and many conversions were made through their inspirational services.
Hampstead Circuit had its own Asbury Grove Camp Meeting Ground. It was located on Houcksville Road, one mile south of Hampstead. It comprised a total of thirty-six acres. It was located from what is now 716 to and including 600 Houcksville Road and also included the present Oakdale Housing Development. Part of this land was formerly known as Hampstead Camp Ground.
In 1873 Jacob C. Turner, William Houck, Alexander Fowble, Henry B. Houck, Elias Baker, David W. Houck, Benjamin F. Payne, John Payne, George W. Keller, Melchour F. Algire, Joshua F. C. Algire, Daniel Null, Jackson Belt, Elias Houck, Jesse M. Cullison, William H. Hoffman, Mordecai W. Gist, and Joseph Armacost, all members of the Hampstead Circuit, bought shares of stock to purchase the land. They set up a corporation "to promote the cause of morality and religion by holding camp meetings of the Methodist Episcopal Church."
The Democratic Advocate August 23, 1873 states:
at the Hampstead Camp Meeting, 1 mile south of Hampstead, fifty tents were set up and 3,000 persons attended.
From the Minutes of the Second Quarterly Conference, Hampstead Circuit, held at the camp ground August 26, 1874
The Camp Meeting for the circuit was held on the Grounds of the Asbury Grove Association commencing August 21st and closing August 28th.
Asbury Grove was a family type camp meeting and strangers were not always welcome as we can see from the Conference Minutes of May 18th, 1878:
And in consequence of the Railroad being under contract and other surroundings, it was thought best to not have a camp meeting this season.
Attendance and interest dwindled until the stockholders sold the land December 28, 1887 to Joshua H. Kemp.
On January 18, 1913, ground was broken for the Social Hall, now called the Fellowship Hall. This was sponsored by the Ladies Aid. It was built as one oblong room with the kitchen across the east end of the building and having entrances to the kitchen both front and back.
The late Thomas W. Buchman remembered it in the following manner:
After the foundation was erected, they decided to have a concrete floor. So the entire interior of the foundation was filled with stone from Uncle Billy Allgire's stone fence. It took tons and tons to fill it, and the stones on top had to be broken up so that the floor would be level. After that, the concrete floor was poured. When it was all finished, the ladies of the church complained that the floor was so cold that they couldn't stand having such cold feet - so a wooden floor was laid.
In order to help pay the debt on the building, many fund raising activities were held, as we see from the 1915Hampstead Enterprise newspaper.
December 4, 1915 - Measuring social at Wesley Social Hall, by Ladies' Aid Society of Wesley M. E. Church. Charge: Two cents per foot and one cent for each inch over seven feet. Lunch free. Candy and Ice Cream on Sale.
The hall was used for many years as a place for suppers and social affairs. When Wesley Chapel burned in 1920 it was used as a place of worship for more than two years until the new church was ready for use. Again, in 1965 it was used for worship services while the present sanctuary was being remodeled. Today it is used for public suppers, fellowship dinners, family reunions, receptions, special programs, banquets, Boy Scout meetings, and Adult Church School classes.
In 1947 a large addition was made to the hall for a kitchen with modern equipment and a porch was added. This addition permitted a larger area for use in the main room. Earl Belt was the contractor. It was at this time that water was first pumped into the church and hall. Two large oil heaters were used for heat. In 1953 the porch was enclosed and a basement was excavated under the kitchen and porch. Other equipment was added, painting done, Formica tops put on counters, and two stainless steel double sinks installed.
In 1960 the hall was remodeled by the contributions and work of the people. The walls were covered with knotty pine, modern rest rooms were added, and the ceiling was covered with acoustical tile. A kitchenette was provided in the corner to take care of water and beverage service at suppers and social events, a new furnace was installed and four folding doors were purchased to divide the area into classrooms for Church School and Youth Fellowship.
Improvements made during the mid-1960s included mounting bulletin boards, installing coat racks, the erection of a worship center and background, and the provision of a lectern and the cross for use on the worship center. The Worship Center was designed and built by Rev. Ira Shindle. In October 1965, a new roof was put on over the kitchen addition.
After the Educational Building was added, the hall was reshingled and painted gray to blend with the new building. A public address system was installed to be used especially for public suppers.
An estimate of $27,500 was quoted in October 1983 to pour footings and cover all exposed old bricks and shingles on the hall, kitchen, and porch with split rock similar in color and texture to the educational building. An estimate of $8,550 was quoted to replace ten windows with Andersen casement double pane windows and two exterior doors with Stanley metal doors and screens. The work was done in March 1984 at a total cost of $36,395.46.
Wesley United Methodist Church
On September 12, 1920, just nine days after the tragic fire at Wesley Chapel, the members of the congregation met under the direction of Rev. Joseph C. Sinclair and appointed the following building committee: Rev. Joseph C. Sinclair, Chairman; Thomas W. Buchman, Secretary; Harvey J. Lippy, Treasurer; Jacob Houck, I. Newton Davidson, J. Grant Dell, and Emory J. Hoffman. A decision had to be made whether to build on the old site, build a new building near the site, or acquire an adjoining piece of land on which to build a new church. It was fortunate that the Social Hall had been built seven years earlier and therefore they had a place to worship while making decisions and completing the project.
Much discussion and some heated argument were still going on January 28, 1921 according to the Enterprisenewspaper:
The building committee met last Tuesday night and could not agree to build on the old walls for the following reasons: To tear out both sides, to tear out the gable end to put windows in, to tear out to put a window in the southeast corner, to close the two front doors, to tear out the southeast corner to erect a tower and to break the front wall at the square. They thought it wise to build a new church out and out as the expense would be but little more and they think it would be a great deal more satisfactory. If the ground can be acquired it would be decided February 6 whether to build on the old site or take the church to the corner of the Houcksville and Carrollton roads on Mrs. Maggie Smith's land.
The Building Committee visited three new churches to get helpful ideas: Manchester Lutheran, Forest Baptist, and Lineboro Union Church. After many meetings, the Committee in consultation with the congregation, decided to build beside the site of the old Wesley Chapel, a stone church faced with Port Deposit Granite with white trim stone. The blueprints and plans were prepared by I. M. Myers, Architect, Hanover, Pa. The problem of removing the old walls was difficult. They were dynamited, but it was hard work to get them out of the way to lay the foundation footings for the new building. George Knouse set up his saw mill three different times on the Wampler farm in front of the church and farmers hauled donated logs there to be sawed. The men hauled five hundred tons of granite from Hampstead to the church and perhaps thousands of tons of sand from Grant Dell's meadow a mile or more northwest of the church. Dressed lumber was purchased from Smith and Reifsnider of Westminster. Excavation was done in the old way using plows, scoops, picks and shovels, and horses. Many tons of cement and lime had to be hauled in.
Construction began in the summer of 1921. Masons on the project were Howell Davis, Albert Frick, William White, Carroll Shamer, and Christie White. Carpenters were Edward Wise, George Snyder, Henry Bailey, Jacob Houck, and Frank Stone. The cement work was done by Amos Ezra Evans. Laborers were Charles McMillin, Roy Seipp, Luther Hoffman, Stanley McMillin, Charles Shaffer, Walter Dell, Charles Kleinsnitz, Raymond Dell, Roger Zentz, Thomas W. Buchman, and Chester McMillin. The painters were Thomas Tipton and his assistants. The plastering was done by Gross Brothers of Manchester.
The cornerstone for the building was laid on October 9, 1921 by Dr. W.W. Barnes. It was dedicated by A.R. Shultz of Hampstead, and was laid in place by the head mason, Howell Davis. J . H. Allender donated a copper box for inside the cornerstone. The box contained a Bible donated by Mrs. Irene Davidson Buchman, some newspapers, church papers, some little wooden barrels used to collect money, the names of all subscribers, some money, and a few memorabilia from the cornerstone of the former Wesley Chapel.
The new Wesley Methodist Church was completed in late 1922 and Rev. Joseph C. Sinclair arranged to have it dedicated on Sunday, December 10, 1922, by Dr. J . M. Gillum, District Superintendent. He was assisted by Professor Charles E. Ely and Rev. C. Emory Dudrear at the 11 a.m. service. At the afternoon service Dr. W. H. Morgan, Pastor of First Methodist Church of Baltimore, preached. The Rev. J. F. Heisse of Howard Park Methodist Church preached that night. All presented excellent messages.
The cost of the building was something in excess of $35,000 and because of the generous subscriptions made previously, only a little more than $9,000 was owed at the time of dedication. The Board of Home Missions granted $1,000 from its emergency fund. More than $7,000 was subscribed on the day of dedication, as the people responded to the strong appeals of Dr. Gillum and Professor Ely. As the day closed only $400 was needed to pay the debt in full. All payments were made promptly and it was not necessary to borrow more than $6,000 at any time.
Stone from the Wesley Chapel was used in the under structure of the new building. The cornerstone of Wesley Chapel was placed in the fuel room of the new Wesley Church. Now that the area has been used to install restrooms, the cornerstone can no longer be seen.
The pews were purchased from the American Seating Company at a cost of $2,600. This price included three pulpit chairs, the communion table, two flower stands, and two smaller chairs within the chancel. The George Heartly Payne Company of New York put in the memorial windows purchased by the persons identified on the windows.
The pulpit and hymn board were made and presented to the church by Morrell Greene, a great, great, grandson of John Allgire, in whose home the church had its beginning. The carving of the grape and leaf designs in the upper panels was done by Jacob Houck, also a great, great, grandson of John Allgire. An Axminister carpet was laid across the front and in the aisles. The church was lighted by electricity and heated by a pipeless coal burning furnace. An imitation pipe organ and twelve oak high-back chairs saved from the fire were used in the choir section. The bell was purchased from McShane's Foundry in Baltimore.
The Sunday School room in the undercroft of the church was supplied with about one hundred and twenty adult chairs, two dozen small chairs, and some of the furniture from Brown's Meeting House and Wesley Chapel.
The Pulpit Bible was presented by Mrs. Irene Buchman and Mr. Luther Davidson's Sunday School Class on Dedication Day, December 10, 1922 and is still in our possession. Another Pulpit Bible dated Anniversary Day, December 6,1931 "presented by Rachel Allgire Crosley in memory of my sister Mary Ruth Allgire Buchman and niece Aby Buchman Wampler" remains on display. The present Pulpit Bible was presented in 1959 by Mary F. and James W. Mann in memory of Douglas I. and Jo Ann M. Mann.
In 1942 four large hanging fluorescent lights were purchased for the church, and in the same year a Moller Pipe Organ with Deegan Chimes was installed for a total cost of $3,000.
In preparation for the 1948 Sesquicentennial Celebration, the upstairs and downstairs floors were refinished, walls repainted, new carpet purchased, and an oil burning furnace with forced air circulator was installed in the west corner of the downstairs room.
In 1962 Rev. Ira Shindle began a church newsletter, the Wesley Journal which has continued to the present.
More than $8,000 was necessary in 1963 and 1964 to put a new roof of high grade rock type slate on the church, to cover the stained glass windows with storm windows, to insulate between the ceiling and roof, and to remodel the undercroft of the church into separate Sunday School rooms, choir robing area and Sunday School office space.
The altar area was remodeled in 1965 with the open chancel design which was designed by and developed under the direction of Rev. Ira Shindle. The chancel platform was adjusted to permit the pulpit to be on one side and the placement of a lectern on the other side. The communion table was placed at the rear center on a platform as an altar, with the cross and candlesticks set upon a retable. The flower stands were placed on each side of the altar. A reredos with dossal was provided as a background. The communion rail was divided and steps arranged in the center of the chancel to provide for a central approach. The choir area was extended into the church three feet at the front, enclosed by a low oak screen with the choir pews arranged to face center. The floor was lowered for the organ console, which was placed in the front corner of the choir area near the lectern. Also an amplifying system was installed.
In 1967 new Methodist Hymnals were purchased. This edition was the twenty-third hymnal used by the various branches of the Methodist Church since the first M. E. Hymnal published in 1790. The church members paid for them by using them as memorials or in honor of a loved one. The dedication for each hymnal appears on the inside front cover. The old hymnals were then used to replace those in the social hall.
A red nylon wall to wall carpet was put in the sanctuary and a matching salt and pepper one in the narthexes and basement stairs in 1969 at a cost of $2,148. Some of the old carpet that was still useable was placed in the downstairs hallway. The rooms in the undercroft were wall to wall carpeted in 1971.
Equipment contributed in 1971 has enabled us to record the church services which are put on cassettes for distribution to members who are unable to attend because of age or illness. These cassettes are erased and reused.
Two electrically operated fifty-two inch wood-grained paddle fans were installed in the ceiling of the sanctuary in 1981 and later that year the furnace was replaced for $2,300.
The people of Wesley have always kept their buildings and grounds well furnished and maintained. This has been made possible by the work and donations of many people. A walnut plaque is mounted on the rear wall of the church and brass plates have been placed on some furnishings to identify some of the larger gifts and memorials.
Several booklets have been printed on the history and activities of the church. The first one, in 1948 under the leadership of Rev. James H. Talley and Thomas W. Buchman, was entitled "Sesqui-Centennial of Wesley Methodist Church." In 1965 Rev. Ira W. Shindle's "165th Anniversary of Brown's Meeting House" Booklet received first place in its class in the Church History Contest. "A Portrait of Wesley United Methodist Church" was published in 1968 under the leadership of Rev.
Stanley G. Harrell. Its purpose was to show others our church at work. It was used in conjunction with a program of Evangelistic emphasis.
In 1902 Mrs. Emory J. Hoffman became the Communion Steward. Mrs. Luther R. Hoffman became her assistant in 1926 and in 1937 she took over as Communion Steward. Mrs. Jackie A. Hoffman became her assistant in 1967. After fifty-six years of devoted service, Mrs. Luther R. Hoffman retired in 1982. Mrs. Robert E. Leister has served as Communion Steward since 1983.
Junior Church and Nursery
Each Sunday during the morning worship service (except June, July and August) the children, age six to twelve attend the first half of the service and then retire to a church school classroom for their own Junior Church. Mrs. Audrey Johnson began this practice in 1970 and has continued to teach this group of children to the present. We are grateful for the devoted service Audrey gives to the church and the children.
A Nursery has been provided for many years for children up to five years of age during the Worship Service. Adult and teenage volunteers supervise the children while their parents worship.
Boys from the Church School began serving as acolytes in the fall of 1963. A robe was presented for their use by Mrs. Edgar Rhoten and a candle lighter and snuffer by Mrs. Jesse Heird. Since 1967 girls as well as boys have the opportunity to serve as acolytes. Their contribution to the Worship Service is appreciated.
Music at Wesley
There were no musical instruments in Brown's Meeting House except the tuning fork. In 1885 a group of the young people started to press for an organ for Wesley Chapel. The older members opposed the idea. Rev. W. A. Koontz was the pastor and favored it but he was pastor for only one year and did not see it through. It was thoroughly discussed and there were very heated arguments as it was presented for the vote.
Uncle Tom Buchman says he was there and remembers some of the argument. Said a dear old lady, "If you bring an organ into the church, you had just as well bring a checker board in." Said one of the men, "They say the devil is in the fiddle and if he is in the fiddle he is in the organ." Another brother told the first organist, Miss Ella Martin, that the devil is in the organ and she answered by saving "You are mistaken. He is not in the organ; he is in the people.' (Shindle, 1965)
The young people won and an Estey organ was placed in the church in 1885. An imitation pipe organ was probably purchased about 1914-18. Church records show that during Rev. Carlos Dunagan's pastorate in 1925, an Epworth organ was bought from Old Washington Church in Baltimore for $20.00.
In 1942 the Moller Pipe Organ Company of Hagerstown, Maryland installed a pipe organ with Deegan Chimes. It was dedicated on March 15, 1942. The organ works are installed above the ceiling in a room specially prepared and insulated from the attic space. The console was first placed on the chancel platform and later moved to the main floor in front of the choir. In 1965 during the remodeling of the chancel it was again placed in the chancel area, the floor was lowered and it was placed in the front corner of the choir area.
The Church organists through the years have been: Miss Ella "Bird" Martin, Mrs. Elsie Ebaugh Gill, Mrs. Grace Abbott Grumbine, Mrs. Mildred Stull Eby, Mrs. Ida Spahr Bonner, Mrs. Irene Davidson Buchman, Mrs. Roberta Snvder, Rill Blum, Miss Harriett Z. Tull, Mrs. Betty Lippy Horner, Mrs. Joan Hoffman Porterfield, Miss Barbara Rill, Miss Lisa Parker, Miss Mary Hitchcock, and Jeffrey Horner. The present organists are Mrs. Horner and Mrs. Porterfield. Wesley has been quite fortunate in having several organists at the same time to take turns as they give their service. Others are encouraged to prepare for playing the pipe organ.
Through the years Wesley has had several who have given their services as Senior Choir Director. Among these are Jacob Houck, Lester Houck, Mrs. Beryl Haskin, Mrs. Joretta Allwine, and Mrs. Florence Balderson.
In recent years the paid choir directors have been Miss Brenda Rickell, Sam Crispin, David Berg, and Jeffery Horner, who is the present Director of Music.
Several Junior Choirs have been established. Some of the promoters and directors have been Mrs. Etta Ruth Heird, Mrs. Betty Horner, Mrs. Betty Parker, Mrs. Beryl Haskin, Mrs. Joan Porterfield, and Mrs. Kathe Lippy, the present director.
Mrs. Betty Horner organized and directed the teenage choir called "The Group" in 1970. Mrs. Connie Wiegel directed this choir for a while.
In 1971 Mrs. Kathe Lippy organized and directed a Cherub Choir for ages four through six. Other directors have been Mrs. Connie Wiegel, Miss Jill Johnson, and presently Mrs. Audrey Johnson and Miss Jennifer Randall.
For many years the choirs have been robed through the donations made by the United Methodist Women and many other contributors.
Since the early 1900s, usually on the first or second Sunday in June when the Minister was attending Conference, Children's Day would be held. The children ages three to fourteen would have recitations, solos, and group songs. A "drill" was usually presented by the older girls and boys. This consisted of marching down the church aisle to the temporary platform set up in the altar area, going through a rehearsed series of circles and formations all set to the beat of a marching tune being played on the piano, and then returning by the center aisle to the rear of the sanctuary. Flags or flowers were carried during the performance and it was called a "flag drill" or "flower drill." All of the children would rehearse for several weeks prior to the big day. On the last rehearsal, held the day (Saturday) before the presentation, the children would bring flowers to decorate the Church. Whatever flowers were in bloom at that time, such as daisies, roses, and laurel would be used Children's Day is no longer observed in this manner.
Labor Day Sunday
Labor Day Sunday was observed in the early 1970s by the people of the congregation dressing in the clothes worn at their labor or occupation.
In the fall of the year, when the crops were all harvested, the people would place potatoes, pumpkins, turnips, home canned fruit and vegetables, and jellies on the altar. Some of this food was given to the parsonage family and the rest was divided between the Kelso Home for Girls and the Strawbridge Home for Boys.
The ingathering of food is still held one Sunday a year, but County Health Regulations will not allow home canned goods, so therefore only commercially prepared products may be donated. This is given to the "Food Bank" located in St. John's Church in Hampstead to be given to needy families. The "Food Bank" is part of the Northeast Social Action Program (NESAP) organized by the ministers and laity in the Hampstead area.
In early days, a Seed Service was held in the Spring Planting Season to bestow God's blessings on the seeds to produce a plentiful harvest.
In November each year a celebration of the Anniversary of the founding of the Church is observed. Usually a guest speaker or former minister is invited to give the message at the Worship Service. This service has also been known as "Homecoming" and at one time was known as "Dollar Day," with each member being asked to donate $1.00 over and above their regular contribution.
Once a year (presently the second Sunday in October) a lay member from Wesley or a lay speaker from another church gives the sermon for the day.
Christian Education Sunday
In early September "Rally Day" or "Promotion Day" is held. Usually children, youth, and adults from the Church School help lead the worship service. The teachers are recognized for their work, and promotions and attendance awards received.
Student Recognition Day
On one Sunday of each year the church celebrates Student Recognition Day (it is presently held the Sunday after Christmas). College and university students take part in the service.
Hymn sings were held at various times of the year. Anyone with a talent was invited to sing or play an instrument. Also choirs and individuals from other churches were invited to participate. The Congregation would callout their hymn selection favorites for the singing of the congregational hymns. During the past ten years, Wesley has joined with the other United Methodist Churches in the area for an "Advent Carol and Choir Sing." The churches take turns hosting this service held on a Sunday evening.
Celebration of American Bicentennial - 1976
The celebration of our nations 200th Anniversary was marked by several special services in 1976. On Sunday March 21st, in the evening, all church organizations participated in a special program. The Boy Scouts opened the service with the Flag Procession, followed by skits, readings, and essays. Rev. William Balderson wrote a play which was presented by the Young Adults. The Junior Choir sang and the United Methodist Men showed a movie. The evening ended with everyone singing "God Bless America." At several of the morning services many of the church members wore Bicentennial or Colonial Attire, some of which were made by the members themselves. The July 4 Worship Service was held at the new North Carroll High School and was planned and attended by the area churches of Hampstead.
Wesley was fortunate to be able to participate in many of the activities offered during the Methodist Bicentennial. The Celebration was held in Baltimore, as well as the General Conference of Methodists, in honor of Maryland being the "Birthplace of American Methodism."
Members of Wesley and Hampstead churches went by bus to the Grand Festival Celebration at the Baltimore Civic Center on May 6. Several of the Senior Choir members went to the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall for the Festival Concert the following evening.
On Aldersgate Sunday an old-fashioned service was held, with members in Colonial dress and Rev. Albert Lane, III using a John Wesley sermon and leading the singing with a line hymnal. The Church School classes had a balloon ascension. Several evenings during the year a covered dish supper and movies on John Wesley and Methodism were presented. Each Sunday a John or Charles Wesley hymn was selected from the hymnal for congregational singing. Rev. Wilson Shearer gave a dramatization of John Hagerty, circuit riding preacher, in November.
The preaching appointment now known as Wesley United Methodist Church began, as already mentioned, in the home of John Allgire and was known as the Allgire appointment. Beginning sometime around 1815 -1820 it became known as Brown's or Brown's Meeting House. In 1878 it was officially changed to Wesley Chapel and became Wesley Church in 1922.
Wesley was a part of the Methodist Episcopal (M. E.) Church from its beginning to 1939 when it was changed to Wesley Methodist Church. As a result of the merger of the Evangelical United Brethren and Methodist Churches on April 23, 1968 the name was changed to Wesley United Methodist Church.
Wesley has been in the Baltimore Conference from its beginning. It is interesting to note, however, that the original Baltimore Conference spread into Pennsylvania taking in much of the territory of the present Central Pennsylvania Conference. It also spread into Virginia at least as far as Roanoke and covered much that is now in the Virginia Conference. In 1857 the Baltimore Conference was divided into two conferences with the Baltimore Conference continuing to the south of a line drawn in an east and west direction through Baltimore City. That to the north of the same line was called the East Baltimore Conference. This arrangement continued until 1868 when other conferences were formed and the parts of the two conferences in Maryland were reunited under the name of the original Baltimore Conference.
Wesley has shifted Districts a number of times. Originally it was in the greater Baltimore District. Later connections were as follows: 1821, Carlisle District; 1844, Frederick; 1868, West Baltimore; 1874, Baltimore; 1888, West Baltimore; and 1965 to the present, Baltimore Northwest District.
The circuit connection has changed a number of times also. Originally it was a part of the greater Baltimore Circuit. Later changes resulted in these affiliations: 1810, Great Falls Circuit; 1830, Shrewsbury Circuit; 1839, Codorus Mission; 1844, Westminster Circuit; and 1853, Hampstead Circuit. We know there were nine churches on this circuit: Hampstead, Brown's (Wesley Chapel), Emory, Manchester, Grave Run (on Falls Road), Union Chapel (Grace), Mt. Union (Shiloh), Mt. Tabor (Hoffmanville), and Pleasant Grove. In 1910 Wesley was a part of the Emory Circuit which included Wesley Chapel, Emory, and Pleasant Grove. In 1911 Boring became a part of this circuit. Wesley Church became a station in 1959.
[For a key to the stained glass windows, please see the section before the appendices.]
Our Own Parsonage
In 1959, when Wesley separated from Emory Circuit and became a Station Church, a parsonage was needed for its pastor and family. On Sunday, February 8, a Building Committee was appointed consisting of: Raymond P. Buchman, chairman, A. Paul Garrett, J. Francis Harris, Robert E. Leister, Wallace W. Lippy, Alvin P. Rill, Emory E. Rill, and John W. Rill.
In March the Building Committee asked the Woman's Society of Christian Service to appoint a committee to purchase the furnishings. This committee consisted of Mrs. Anna Mae Richards, chairman, Mrs. Helen Baker, Mrs. Beulah Stocksdale, Mrs. Betty Horner, Mrs. Lillian Hoffman, Mrs. Ellie Rill, Mrs. Betty Parker, and Mrs. Leola Leister.
There was much discussion about what type of house should be provided and about its arrangement and furnishings. Mr. Raymond J. Rill was awarded the contract. Ground adjacent to the church property on the east side of Carrollton Road was obtained from Mr. and Mrs. Norville E. Davidson.
This Deed dated May 28, 1959 from Norville E. Davidson and Edith L. his wife to the Trustees of Wesley Chapel Methodist Church for the Parsonage land. This parcel contains 1.13 acre on the Southeast side of Carrollton Road.
This deed is in our possession and on file at Carroll County Land Deeds Liber 305 folio 281.
The three bedroom parsonage, which at that time housed the church office in the basement, was completed by June 16, 1959. The first minister to live there, Rev. James C. Haskin and his family, moved in on June 18, 1959.
The cost of the entire project was $20,000 including furniture and office equipment. Shrubbery was donated by Paul R. Simms. The donation of labor and services by many at no charge or at reduced prices made this project possible at reasonable cost. The entire debt was paid off by the end of 1959. We are in possession of the ashes from the note burning at the dedication service held on February 21, 1960.
Through the years, many new pieces of furniture and major appliances have been bought. A small patio was built, and the breezeway was enclosed with jalousies. New drapes, carpeting, linoleum, a bathtub and shower stall have been added. The usual painting, major and minor repairs, and maintenance have been carried out.
The earliest record of a parsonage was when Brown's Meeting House was a part of the Cordorus Mission (1839 -1844). The parsonage was rented and was located in Hoffmanville. In 1877 the Hampstead Circuit parsonage was rented in Manchester. From the Quarterly Minutes Book of Hampstead Circuit 1872 1886 we have the following entries:
August 1878 - "A lot to build a parsonage on has been purchased for $25.00."
November 1878 - "Building raised and nearly all weatherboarded, but out of money, so will stop."
May 31, 1879 - "Parsonage is completed at cost of $1,265.65. Of that amount $262.45 has been paid, leaving a balance of $1,003.20. The house is now occupied by the Preacher in Charge, D. Benton Winstead, but vet needs some fixing to the surroundings."
November 1880 - "Authorized a well sunk on the Parsonage Ground and a pump be purchased."
In 1910, when Wesley was a part of the Emory Circuit, a new parsonage was built at "Fowblesburg Station" for the minister and his family.
The churches provided these parsonages, completely furnished. In 1978 the Annual Conference adopted a policy stating that as of January 1, 1979, there would be a system of unfurnished church and district parsonages. "An unfurnished parsonage would be defined as containing major appliances (refrigerator with separate freezing compartment, range, washer, dryer, and a dishwasher recommended). Floor and window coverings for the living area should be provided. Wall-to-wall carpeting and draperies and sheer curtains should be neutral in color." The recommendation that the parsonage furnishings listed on Wesley's inventory be transferred to Rev. Rebecca Abts for a nominal fee was adopted at the charge conference.
On March 31, 1969 the first survey of the congregation was made concerning the need for an educational building. Plans and discussion began, and in 1972 a Building Committee was elected by the Administrative Board. Those on the committee were: Rev. Stanley G. Harrell, Chairman (1966 - 1974); Mrs. Etta Ruth Heird, Secretary; George Brooks, Treasurer; Rev. William M. Balderson (1974 - 1978); Norville Baker; A. Paul Garrett; Wallace Lippy; and Wayne Rill.
Hamme Associates of York, Pa. was chosen as architect, and on February 24, 1974 the congregation approved accepting the bid of I. H. Crouse & Son, Inc. of Littlestown, Pa. to construct the addition. Groundbreaking took place on March 24, 1974. Upon completion of the building the Consecration Service was held on April 6, 1975.
The building is ninety-eight feet long by fifty feet wide and has a total of fifty-four hundred square feet. It was constructed in such a way that a second floor can be added. It contains rooms for the Nursery, Kindergarten, Young Adults, Elementary V & VI, and Junior and Senior High classes. The pastor's study, office, furnace room, janitor's room, restrooms, corridor, and a two-story stairwell are also in the building, which on the west end connects to the church and on the east end connects to the fellowship hall. In addition to church activities, Wesley Playgroup and area Boy Scouts meet regularly in the facility.
A total of $143,987.25 was paid to the contractor. Cost of the building, including architect's fee, painting, carpeting, and furniture totaled $166,186.59. $76,500 was borrowed from Hampstead Bank at 8% interest for fifteen years. $10,000 was borrowed from Wesley's cemetery fund at 5% interest. A check in the amount of $2,000 for the Building Fund was given to Wesley by the Conference Board of Missions. This money was a conditional donation. The leadership of the church returned the $2,000 in three annual installments in 1982, 1983, and 1984 so that it could be used to help finance building projects for other churches.
Solicitation was handled through two three-year pledge campaigns of church members, friends, church organizations, and Church School classes. Their methods of raising money were numerous, such as: holly marts, bike-a-thon, skating party, and Mother's Day and Father's Day bulletins. In 1973, a project of stuffing travel maps in envelopes for the 3M Company, Westminster, Maryland, was undertaken. A total of 445,500 envelopes were stuffed for a profit of $3,500.
All loans for the Educational Building were paid off by November 1980 and a Note-Burning Service was held on Anniversary Sunday, November 23, 1980.
A plaque listing memorials and gifts is in the hallway of the Educational Building. Many people of the Church and Community contributed time as well as money to make this building possible.
The Church School
The Sunday School (now Church School) had its beginnings in the mid-nineteenth century in England and spread to America. The development of the movement and its timing is reflected in the story of Wesley, as well as that of many other churches. The Quarterly Conference minutes of the 1860s to 1880s tells of the difficulty with which the pastors began the work of Sunday Schools in the churches.
It is quite usual to read where the Sunday School was organized anew in April or May after having been closed for the winter. The Junior Pastor on the Circuit had as his chief responsibility to get it organized and going again. Through the years of beginnings, the Bible was used without any other literature. The division of the group into classes did not take much account of the student's age. All classes were taught by men, regardless of the age of the members. By the late 1880s there were both male and female teachers. When such helps as the Berean lesson leaflets were published, it was extremely difficult to persuade the people to use them because many thought the Bible alone was sufficient. Gradually and reluctantly these helps were adopted for use, but the practice of having warm weather Sunday School persisted for a long time.
In the early years it was called the Sabbath School and had a very active Missionary Society. In 1888 they had five male and five female classes. Children up to first grade were in Class #1, up to second grade #2, up to third grade #3, up to fourth grade #4, up to fifth and sixth grade and adults were in Class #5. Some years a reward was given to all "who attended all but one Sunday." In 1887 one hundred twenty-five Testaments were purchased as a reward and given at Christmas. Another expense that Christmas was for gilt paper to cover the letters "Christ was Born in Bethlehem" for the tree. For many years a "confectionary treat" was given to all the children. Many present members remember receiving an orange and a box of candy from Santa. This was discontinued in 1979.
Beginning as early as 1873 we see names of Superintendents for each year and they appear again and again after the lapse of a few years. Names that are repeated from time to time are John W. Abbott, F. T. Newbelle, Joel Ebaugh, and Atlee W. Wampler. A number of other names appear for only one year. In 1898 Thomas W. Buchman was elected and served consecutively through fifty-two years. He was succeeded in 1951 by Chester W. Rill. Since then, the Superintendents have been (in order): T. Edward Lippy, A. Paul Garrett, Charles Beck, Wilford E. Barnes, Elwood P. Rill, and Wallace W. Lippy. From 1969 to 1979 there was no general superintendent, but there were work area chairpersons and coordinators in Youth, Family, Adult, and Children's Divisions. In 1979 these divisions were reorganized to include a Young Adult Division and once again a General Superintendent. Since 1979 the Superintendents have been (in order) Mrs. Rosemary Lippy, Mrs. Helen Gunnarson, Mrs. Barbara Dougherty, Mrs. Dayna Lane, Mrs. Connie Wiegel, and Mrs. Pamela Phillips.
The Sabbath School met in the one room church in the Brown's Meeting House and in Wesley Chapel. In the new Wesley Church, the full undercroft was considered the Sunday School room and again, all met in that room. As time passed and the work of the Sunday School was guided by church Boards of Education and other councils, the desirability of more separation of classes and departments was accepted. The Sunday School came to be called the Church School because this name was considered more truly descriptive. With some reluctance, the adult classes began to use the sanctuary for their Church School classes. Later this became the Adult Department or Division. The Youth and Children's Divisions continued to use the Sunday School room, but with increasing difficulty. As a result of the remodeling of the Social Hall, quarters were provided for the Youth Division to meet separately.
The Adults were organized into several classes. The younger married ladies were known as the "Ruth and Naomi" class, the single ladies as "Queen Esther," and the senior ladies as "Daughters of the King." The young men's class was known as "Jonathan and David" and the senior men as the "Leader."
The Children's Division continued to meet in the undercroft of the church and worked under a great handicap. In 1963, this room was separated by a system of partitions so that it provided three departmental rooms for the Nursery, the Kindergarten, and the Elementary I-III. The Elementary IV-VI met in a part of the Social Hall.
In the earlier years, the work of the Sunday School was directed by a Board made up of the elected officers and teachers. In the late 1950s the work became the responsibility of the Commission on Education which is composed of representatives from all phases of the life of the church.
The people of Wesley have been interested in doing their best for the development of the children of the community. They have conducted a Vacation Bible School to supplement the teaching in the regular Church School. Through the years, various programs are presented to the entire congregation by the children, such as Children's Day, Promotion Sunday, and a Christmas Program.
The Church School had extra activities. During the early 1950s several Chesapeake Bay beaches, including Alpine and Maryland Beaches, were popular for the annual outing. The Annual Picnic held on the church grounds was the most popular. It was looked upon as a Reunion for many families. At first, the Annual Picnic was held to have fun and games and was held all day. It was even held the day after the Wesley Chapel burned. Later it was held only in the afternoon and evening. The records of 1886 list expenses for ice cream, confectionary, lemons, and cigars. The profits were very small at first and were used to support the Church School. Later, sandwiches, soda pop, cakes and candy were sold and even later, platter suppers were added. In the evening a musical program was held, and a local Band entertained during the afternoon and part of the evening. The Annual Picnic continued until 1982.
When the Educational Building was finished and occupied in April 1975, the two adult classes met in the Fellowship Hall and the Young Adults, Junior and Senior High, Elementary V and VI, Kindergarten, and Nursery met in the new building. Elementary I-II, and III-IV continued to use rooms under the sanctuary. This continues to the present.
In 1986, the Church School began helping to support a Missionary Family, Revs. Richard and Kimberly Brown-Whale and their children, Sarah and Richard, who live in Angula, British West Indies. The Brown-Whales served several churches in Carroll County before leaving for the mission field. They keep the Church abreast of their progress and the Church School Classes correspond with the family also. Although the Church School and Church have participated in other mission projects, this is the first family that has been supported on a regular basis.
The work of the Church School is most important as it seeks to mold the lives of its children and youth and give guidance to the adults.
The Ruth and Naomi Class of younger married ladies was organized in October 1933 under the leadership of Mr. E. J. Hoffman, teacher. Officers were: President, Mrs. Marianna Buchman; Vice President, Mrs. Virginia Houck; Secretary, Mrs. Marie Buchman; and Treasurer, Mrs. Beulah Stocksdale. Meetings were held monthly in the homes of members at first and later in the social hall. They had worship and study programs and held many functions to raise money for the church, such as bake sales, strawberry festivals, and plays. They held their first strawberry festival in June 1937 and it became an annual affair through 1965.
The Class always helped whenever money was needed for new things or repairs. Some of the items with which the V helped were lights, organ, kitchen equipment, Missionary Projects, and sustaining memberships to the Home for the Aged at Gaithersburg. In 1948 they had carpet placed in the church at a cost of $1,035. In April 1939 this class began and carried on a Cradle Roll for the Sunday School.
At one time they had a "Secret" or "Peanut" Sister project in which they would draw names and send cards and gifts to the "Sister" on holidays and birthdays. Each year they would have a banquet and reveal their Secret Sister and draw names for the following year.
In 1960 they decided to discontinue as an organized group and joined with the Women's Society of Christian Service. However, they continued to meet as the Ruth and Naomi Class on Sundays with Mrs. Beulah Blevins as their teacher at that time. In 1967 the class was discontinued and some of the members combined with the Daughters of the King Senior Ladies Class and some joined the newly formed Young Adult Class, organized by Rev. Stanley Harrell who shared teaching of the class with Lester Houck.
Men's Bible Class
The Senior Men's Bible Class was earlier known as "The Leader." It has had many dedicated teachers during the years, the most devoted one being Herbert W. Allgire, Jr., great, great, great, grandson of John Allgire, founder of Wesley Church. In the late 1930s he began by teaching the young men's class for several years and later the Men's Bible Class. He was known for his knowledge of the Bible and his manner of teaching which was clearly understood by the men whom he taught. He retired in the late 1970s after teaching for over forty years.
Mr. Norville (Ned) Davidson succeeded him as teacher. At the present time, the senior men and women are meeting as one class with Mr. Davidson and Mrs. Walter Hitchcock alternating in teaching the class.
This Church School Class was organized in 1967 by Rev. Stanley Harrell for married and single young adults. The Class was taught by Lester Houck and Rev. Harrell.
In the fall of 1974 Rev. William Balderson re-organized this class to include a monthly meeting held at the homes of members for fun and fellowship. The class was taught at that time by Mrs. Florence Balderson, then by Lester Houck, and later by Carl Rill. For a while different members of the class took turns teaching. When the educational building was being built they had a Bike-AThon and raised $1,000 toward the building fund. The monthly fellowship evenings were discontinued from 1978 until 1982. At the present, the Young Adults have their monthly meetings and Rev. Lane is teaching the church school class.
Vacation Bible School
Vacation Bible School was first started at Wesley in the early 1960s by Mrs. Beryl Haskin. It was held for two weeks in the summer Monday through Friday from 9 A.M. until 12 Noon for Bible studies, crafts, music, and recreation. It was open to all children in the community age three years through the ninth grade. At the close of the school a program was presented to the congregation telling about their work and showing their projects. On the last day a picnic would be held on the lawn. To meet the changing needs of our community, the Vacation Bible School now concentrates its activities into a single week.
Wesley 4-H Club
The Wesley 4-H Club was organized in 1975 by Mrs. Frances Crispin. The project leaders were William (Bud) and Margaret Harris and Carl Rill. They started with nine members and had grown to thirty-eight members by 1983, when it was discontinued. The boys and girls earned money by helping the United Methodist Men to collect old newspapers, which were sold, and used this money for a bus trip to New York City. The Wesley 4-H Club was sponsored by the Church and met there regularly. This was a very active organization and had outstanding leadership.
Boy Scout Troop #380
Boy Scout Troop #380 was formed in 1970 and sponsored by Wesley United Methodist Church. Under the leadership of Jesse Doster as Scoutmaster it grew from three boys to twenty-four. The troop continued to grow with Charles R. Beam as Scoutmaster. Charles had become an Eagle Scout in 1954 in Troop #495 which met at Emory Church and was sponsored by the Emory Circuit Methodist Men. At that time Wesley was part of the Emory Circuit and representatives from each church on the circuit served as committeemen for the troop.
Troop #380 was reorganized in 1978 by Greg Wiegel, Scoutmaster, after a brief period of inactivity. Scott McCullough completed his requirements and became the first Eagle Scout of the Troop. Gary Zahn became Scoutmaster in 1981, followed by Jim Cron. In 1982 Tobin Porterfield earned and received his Eagle Scout.
At the present time, Jim Watkins is Scoutmaster and has a very active troop of sixteen boys. A variety of programs and activities are offered to help the boys complete their requirements and encourage them to reach their goals.
Plans for the Wesley Playgroup, a private parent-cooperative pre-school program, began in the fall of 1977. After meeting all the requirements, a license to operate was granted in March 1978 to Mrs. Cheryl Zuskin. Two classes were begun under her direction shortly thereafter in the Wesley Educational Building. Each class met once a week. There were six two year olds and nine three year olds in the first two classes.
By September 1980 a class for four year olds was added and the staff had increased to include Mrs. Brenda Benson and Mrs. Linda Rill.
At present the schedule includes five morning classes (Monday to Friday) and four afternoon classes (Monday to Thursday) with an enrollment of seventy children and a staff of three teachers and many parent volunteers.
The Playgroup, which is not owned by Wesley Church, leases the use of the Educational Building.
There are very few early records in existence concerning the business of the cemetery committees. We do know that the oldest burial marked with a tombstone is Mary Frances Richards, great granddaughter of John Allgire. She died February 15, 1841, aged four months. There are probably older unmarked burials. The two oldest stones are those of Henry and Nicholas Brown who died 1830 and 1829. These stones were brought from the John Brown farm behind the church by the Walsh family for safe keeping. No doubt there was at one time a family burying ground from which these stones survived, as was the custom before church graveyards.
The Trustee's Minutes give us the following information:
April 3, 1886 - Moved that the Grave Yard be enlarged at the east end about 16 feet and that the old fence be repaired.
May 27, 1886 - Resolved that cemetery be laid off in lots and any person shall have the privilege of free burial as heretofore.
December 27, 1892 - Resolved, that the Trustees forbid the planting in the cemetery of any shrubbery, vines, bushes or flowers of any kind whatever that have a tendency to run or spread over the ground, or any trees whose nature it is to grow large. Also that no burying lots be enclosed with posts and chains or otherwise to be placed in the cemetery hereafter.
November 7, 1903 - On motion decided to purchase a fence for cemetery from Corbett Fence Manf.. Co. Hagerstown, Md. the sum of $250. Cash when completed.
March 15, 1904 - Moved to hold an oyster supper in the School House for the benefit of the Church Treasury (to pay for the fence) on March 31, April 1 and 2.
As early as 1899 the Trustees employed someone to keep the cemetery clean for $3.00 per year. By 1933 the caretaker was earning twenty cents an hour. In 1938 a power lawn mower was purchased. The caretaker hand dug the graves until the late 1960s when a backhoe contractor was employed to do the job.
In September 1929 the Official Board members of Wesley decided to beautify the cemetery. They set up rules to eliminate flowers, shrubbery, railings, and corner posts. All cornerstones were lowered for easier mowing and maintenance, and the monuments were realigned into rows. By November of that Year the Democratic Advocate reported:
Under the supervision of Ezra Evans, assisted by Thomas W. Buchman and Russell Dell, the cemetery has already taken on a different appearance. The stones have been lined in order and the ground partly leveled, which adds much to its beauty.
And by the spring of 1930:
The ground was graded eliminating the high bank near the intersecting roads and giving a better view when approaching the cemetery and an entrance was made at the upper side.
About this same time a low cement wall was constructed between the road and cemetery.
From the above Trustees' Minutes we find that the first lots were free to any person. Later we find in the records that it cost $1.00 for opening a grave and $1.00 per year for maintenance of the cemetery. This price increased to $2.00 and later $3.00.
After 1940 the people were encouraged to pay a total fee of $25.00 per grave for Perpetual Care instead of the $3.00 per grave maintenance fee. In 1967 the price increased to $37.50 per grave for members of the church and $50.00 for nonmembers. In November 1968 it was decided to sell to church members only, and the price per grave was $50.00. This was due to lack of room to expand the cemetery and the availability of nearby commercial type cemeteries. In 1973 the price was increased to $100.00 per grave, and church members may purchase up to four graves per family unit.
Through the years many members of the church have faithfully served as caretakers and members of the committee. At first these persons not only oversaw the work, but also mowed the grass and dug the graves. Recently a variety of people have been employed for the grass mowing season, including students off from school for the summer and others desiring part-time employment.
Wesley has been fortunate in having good and caring neighbors who have been generous in allowing enlargement of the cemetery throughout the years, as you can see by the following deeds. To them we are extremely grateful.
This Deed for Two Parcels dated July 14, 1932 from Lewis J. H. Grossart and Carolin M., his wife et al of Allentown Lehigh Co., Pa. to the Trustees of Wesley Methodist Episcopal Church Hampstead Circuit. Tract A straightens the line running between the back of the church and the social hall. It contains 3,098.53 Square Feet. Tract B is at the upper end of the cemetery and contains .325 Acre. On file at Carroll County Liber EMM, Jr. 157 folio 411.
This Deed for Two Parcels dated January 22, 1953 from Paul J. Walsh and Naomi Walsh, his wife to the Trustees of Wesley Chapel Methodist Church. Parcel One adds .0151 Acre to the upper end of the cemetery. Parcel Two straightens the line between the rear of the church and the social hall 0.019 Acre. On file Carroll County Liber EAS 220 folio 313.
This Deed dated December 31, 1968 from Ralph S. Walsh and Dorothy L., his wife to the Trustees of Wesley Chapel Methodist Church and contains 9,202.86 Feet. This is for an addition to the Northeast side of the cemetery which added more land to the entire back of the cemetery. On file Carroll County Liber CCC 448 folio 372.
All of the above deeds are in our possession.
United Methodist Women
The Ladies Aid Society (now the United Methodist Women) was organized October 2, 1904 with fourteen members. The first President was Mrs. W.H.S. Allgire. Meetings were held at the homes of members. Any person wishing to become a member could do so by paying monthly dues of at least five cents.
Each year the Society held an Oyster Supper at the home of T.W. Buchman, where they charged fifteen and twenty-five cents. Socials were held at the homes of various members each year, the proceeds of which usually amounted to about $5.00. The annual strawberry festival was held on the lawn of the church. The Society always served supper to the men who would clean the cemetery. Later a fund was set up for this, called the Graveyard Fund, and it became self-sufficient.
In 1910 the Society was asked to help furnish the new parsonage being built by the Emory Circuit at Fowblesburg. Money was raised by means of a church basket, by selling Infant Relief, Liquid Veneer, calendars, and subscriptions to McCall's Magazine. Each member was given a birthday sack in which she was to put a penny for each year of her age, and a few dollars were collected.
The Society sponsored the building of the Social Hall in 1913 and met there in the summer months. The Society took responsibility for maintaining the hall and the bench house which stood behind Wesley Chapel. They purchased gasoline lights for the grove, hymnals, a service flag, and an organ. They also had paper put on the church windows. In 1920 they voted to pay $10.00 per year parsonage dues to the Parsonage Guild Treasurer.
When Wesley Church was being built, each member was asked to give $10.00 and to solicit money for funds for the church. Money was raised by holding rummage sales, making quilts, and selling candy, mops, rhyme cards, or refreshments at auction sales. In 1923 each member paid ten cents to have her name sewn on a quilt. This quilt is in the possession of Mrs. Luther R. Hoffman. In 1935 a cookbook, Modern Maryland Cookery, was published and sold for thirty-five cents. Approximately 750 copies were sold and some are still found in local homes today.
In 1926 members were asked to fill jars to be packed in a barrel and shipped to the Kelso Home for Girls. A Lydia Sewing Circle was formed in 1927 and articles made were sold in the church basket. A bus trip was taken to Washington, D.C. in 1934 and the Society held its meeting at Mt. Vernon in a pavilion overlooking the Potomac River. They contributed to many organizations such as the Childrens' Aid Society of Carroll County, Red Cross, and the Strawbridge Home for Boys.
In 1940 after the merger of Methodism, the Society was renamed and became the Woman's Society of Christian Service (WSCS). Three departments of work were involved - Home Missions, Foreign Missions and Christian Social Relations, and Local Church Activities. Membership had grown to eighty-seven of which forty were considered active. In addition to the regular budget the Society was expected to pay fifteen cents per active member to a Cultivation Fund to help educate young people for work in mission fields. They also did service projects, the first being to help mend clothes at the Strawbridge Home for Boys three times a year.
During World War II meeting were held every other month because of gasoline and tire rationing. Donations were given for cots to be placed in Baltimore Churches for service men. Baskets of fruit were given to wounded soldiers. Christmas boxes of homemade cookies, cakes, and candy were sent to service men overseas.
Beginning in 1947 all members who had reached eighty years were made Honorary Members. The first of these was Mrs. Dehlia Basler.
On November 10, 1950, the Society celebrated its tenth anniversary with a birthday party and the fifteenth was celebrated by a program in the church. The deceased members were memorialized and the first Adult Life Membership was presented to Mrs. Marshall Richards. A list of those who have received the Special Life Membership or Special Mission Recognition Awards can be found in Appendix D of this book.
In 1986 the Society decided that instead of giving Life Memberships, the money would be used to help support Richard and Kimberly Brown-Whale, missionaries in the British West Indies, being sponsored by the Church.
When the parsonage was built in 1959 the Society pledged $1,000 to the building fund. Members brought their sewing machines and made draperies and have since that time contributed more than $4,000 in furniture, major appliances, etc.
In 1961 the Society asked that each member give a donation instead of paying a set amount of dues, which increased the Treasury.
The women have been very supportive of the church choirs. In 1962 they made choir robes for the Junior Choir and have since that time contributed to new robes for this choir, as well as for the "Group" and the Senior Choir.
In 1966 the Society took on the project of filling in reflector lights for road signs and stuffed road maps in envelopes for the 3MCompany in order to raise money for the Educational Building.
Other services to the church are varied. The Society has purchased equipment for the Church Office in the amount of $2,500. since 1959. They have annually (beginning in 1967) recognized high school and college graduates of the church with a gift during the Sunday Service. Clothing and household items were given to the Church Mission Project at the Heart and Hand House in the Appalachia area of Phillippi, West Virginia in 1971.
The name of the Society was changed from Woman's Society of Christian Service to Women's in 1969 and changed to United Methodist Women in 1972 when the Evangelical United Brethren and Methodist Churches merged. The monthly meetings consist of a business meeting and program such as speakers on mission work, members or visitors showing slides of places they have visited, professionals on health care, or Baltimore Reading Service for the elderly and blind.
In 1976 a brick was given in memory of Mrs. Anna May Richards toward the erection of a chapel at Springfield State Hospital. She had organized the first group of women from Wesley to serve at the Canteen. Also they donated to the Baptist Church on Green Street in Westminster to help rebuild their church following a fire in 1977.
Mrs. J. Francis Harris introduced a "Dollar Garden" in 1981 by giving members $1.00 each but each was expected to make her garden grow financially. The proceeds from this project went to FISH, battered spouse program, and gifts for the patients at Springfield State Hospital.
In 1981 the UMW began supporting the Ulster Project, a program sponsored by the Northeast Carroll Ministerial Association that brings Catholic and Protestant youth from Northern Ireland to our community to promote reconciliation and peace in that country.
One of the members, Mrs. Karl Warehime, presented a gavel to the UMW, made from wood removed from the U.S. Constellation. It had been given to her by her former church.
The area churches take turns each year being host for the worship service shared together on World Community Day.
Mrs. Edith Davidson of the UMW was in charge of the reserving of each Sunday for people wishing to place flowers in the altar vases in honor or in memory of a loved one, from its beginning until 1977. mrs. Beulah Stocksdale served from 1978 to 1985, and continues to be in charge of the Easter Lillies and Christmas Poinsettia. Artificial flowers are now provided for the altar vases, but fresh flowers can still be used at the responsibility of the giver.
Five quilts were made by the members and given to the Board of Child Care when they held their luncheon at Wesley in April 1986.
It is very difficult to express the scope and importance of the work done by the Wesley United Methodist Women for the Church, District, Community, and World. They generously contribute to the Parsonage, Church Office, and Building and Maintenance Fund. They donate large amounts for new Building Projects and assume responsibility for the replacement, repairs, new equipment, and maintenance for the Fellowship Hall and Kitchen. In the past thirty years they have given over $16,000 to the Building Fund and more than $31,000 to the Maintenance Fund. They support the District with their dues and contribute to the Maryland Bible Society, Lucy Webb Hayes School of Nursing, and many other local and foreign missions. They give to the Strawbridge Shrine ASsociation, the Sykesville Shelter, the Conference Pension Program, and the Christmas Shop conducted by the Community Council of Carroll County. Members make and donate clothing for the Brethren Service Center in New Windsor, visit Long View Nursing Home, contribute to the Asbury Home, Board of Child Care, Business Girls Lodge, Goodwill Industries, Westmisnter Rescue Mission, Red Cross, and Carroll County Association for Retarded Citizens. For many years prior to 1985 they served once a month at the Canteen at Springfield State Hospital.
The Women have served many banquets to community organizations and Mother-Daughter Banquets for other churches, sold Stanley and Tupperware Products, Wolfgang Candy at Easter and Christmas, and held their own public suppers two times a year in order to be able to support the church and other organizations so generously. It would be impossible to have such fine buildings and equipment without their help.
The Presidents have been: Mrs. W.H.S. Allgire 1904-1920; Mrs. E.J. Hoffman 1920-1930; Mrs. I. Newton Davidson 1930-1940; Mrs. Marshall Richards 1940-1942; Mrs. John Singer 1942-1943; Mrs. Elmer Stocksdale 1943-1946; Mrs. Milson Rill 1946-1949; Mrs. Roy Sykes 1949-1951; Mrs. Robert Leister 1951-1956; Mrs. Norville Baker 1956-1960; Mrs. Wilford Barnes 1960-1964; Mrs. Henry Miller 1964-1966; Mrs. Jesse W. Heird 1966-1970; Mrs. Paul R. Simms 1970-1972; Mrs. W. Wilson Lippy 1972-1974; Mrs. J. Francis Harris 1974-1979; Mrs. Jesse W. Heird 1979-1981; Mrs. Wesley Senseney 1981-1983; Mrs. Wilford Barnes 1983 to present.
United Methodist Men
United Methodist Youth Fellowship
Rev. Carlos Dunagan
Rev. Stanley G. Harrell
Rev. Albert K. Lane, III
God has richly blessed Wesley United Methodist Church with abundant tools and resources for performing Christ's ministry. There are two hundred years of history during which the Gospel has been shared among faithful people without interruption. Whether it was Allgire's home where they met, or Brown's Meeting House, or Wesley Chapel, the people who now call themselves Wesley Church have gathered to worship God and have responded to the call to minister to each other and to persons in the community and the world beyond.
The congregation is blessed with good, well maintained buildings that are both attractive and functional. Surrounding the buildings are rolling fields that testify to the glory of God's creation. And within those structures there is equipment that aids our worship, assists the Christian education process, and encourages groups of persons to work and have fellowship together.
There are financial resources available to support the ministry of the Church.
Wesley is blessed with talented, caring people, from musicians who regularly use their talents in the worship service to teachers who work in our Sunday School.
Yes, a strong foundation exists and we must be thankful for it. But we cannot rest. We must build upon it. We must search for new ways of performing ministry and grow both physically and spiritually.
It is not enough to look back. We need to look forward. There is much that needs to be done (children taught, the sick visited, those who mourn to be comforted, those in trouble, helped). Wesley is to stand as a beacon to the love and power of God; its members are to be rays spreading out to give light in a dark world.
Our task as a church is to serve Christ by serving other persons, and this is the only way we can repay the debt we owe to those who have gone before us.
We are not content to rest on the achievements of the past. We move forward to new goals in order that more people may know the saving love of Jesus Christ.
Our past history equips us for the present and pushes us into the future. It teaches us and prepares us to meet the challenges of the present day and gives us the courage to leap into the future.
The purpose of writing this booklet is to open up the glorious heritage that is ours from the past and to see God at work in our history. May it give us insights into the present situation, and make the future course for the church of Jesus Christ and its individual members more clear.
Will each of you please join me in this fervent prayer:
"THANK YOU GOD, FOR ALL THE BLESSINGS OF TWO HUNDRED YEARS PAST, AND THANK YOU FOR THE PRIVILEGE - BEGINNING HERE AND NOW - TO WORK WITH THEE FOR GREATER FUTURE BLESSINGS – FOR ALL.
A. Our Mother Ruth Allgire Buchman
B. In Memory of Benjamin and Mary E. Croft
C. In Memory of M. Alice and Frank T. Newbelle
D. In Memory of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. A. Davidson
E. Presented by Alberta A. and Jacob Houck
F. Presented by Rev. Joseph C. Sinclair and Mrs. Joseph C. Sinclair
G. Presented by Lester A. Houck
H. In Memory of Mr. and Mrs. James. C. Hoffman
I. In Memory of Herbert B. Davidson
J. In Honor of Sampson E. and Sallie Brown Davidson and Family
K. In Memory of Mr. and Mrs. John C. Richards
L. Narthex Windows:
In Memory of Annie L. Iowa and Joseph F. Davidson
Our Mother Catherine Allgire Greene
In Memory of Gerald Fred Eby
In Memory of Roger Elmer Zentz
M. Windows over Entrance Doors
N. In Memory of John Wesley and Mary Allgire Davidson
O. In Memory of Annie H., Ida S., and Edward Bonner, Presented by Mr. and Mrs. H. J. Lippy and Family,
In Memory of Mr. and Mrs. George W. Zepp and Family
P. Epworth League, The Ladies Aid Society, Sunday School
After extensive research prior to this publication in land deeds, wills, tax assessments, census records, contact with other genealogists and many family members, the following genealogy was formed - especially tracing the lines that continued to live nearby or be members at Brown's Meeting House to the present. The children listed are not necessarily in order of birth and children who died young are not always listed. More information on the John Allgire family can be found in this book.
*as of October 1, 1986 person is living and is a member of Wesley United Methodist Church.
John Allgire born circa 1745 died 1834 and his wife, Ruth Brown (of John Brown) had nine children:
1. Elizabeth, 2. Nancy, 3. Henry, 4. Cinthia, 5. John, 6. Jacob, 7. Ruth, 8. Nicholas, 9. Lucinda.
1. Elizabeth Allgire (of John and Ruth) (1769-1847) married (.1) William Thomas Richards and had two sons: Thomas Richards and Rev. Amon Richards. Elizabeth married (2) Charles Jones.
2. Nancy AIIgire (of John and Ruth) married Joshua Brown and had ten children:
2A. Nancy Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Michael Koutz
2B. Rebecca Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married John Adam Meyls
2C. Ruth Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Noah Schaffer
2D. George W.H.A. Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Elizabeth Gummell
2E. David K.A. Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Christianna Stephen
2F. Jacob Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Madeline Zellers
2G. Joshua Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Sarah Myerly
2H. Noah A. Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Bathsheba Richards and had four children:
2H1. Nancy Brown (of Noah and Bathsheba) married George Gross
2H2. Harriet K. Brown (of Noah and Bathsheba) married John K. Frank
2H3. Iowa Rebecca Brown (of Noah and Bathsheba) married Miles C. Long
2H4. Eliza J. Brown (of Noah and Bathsheba) married Henry Stull and had seven children:
2H4A. Harry Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married Blanche Carr
2H4B. Nannie Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married George Myers
2H4C. LueJla Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married William Hull
2H4D. John Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married Anna Linder
2H4E. Jack Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married Zola Bush
2H4F. Esta Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married (1) John Emberly (2) Ralph Stansbury
2H4G. AJbert Stull (of Eliza and Henry) married Lucinda Elseroad and had Dorothy and Mary Jane Stull
2l. John A. Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married Lydia Leister
2J. Elizabeth Brown (of Nancy and Joshua) married George Houck and had five children:
2J1. William J. Houck (of Elizabeth and George) married Mary J. Taylor
2J2. Mary (Polly) Houck (of Elizabeth and George) married Michael Walsh
2J3. Ruth Houck (of Elizabeth and George) married John Armacost
2J4. Jacob Nicholas Houck (of Elizabeth and George) married (1) Mary E. Shaffer (2) Mirium S. Troyer
2J5. John Elias Houck (of Elizabeth and George) married Martha Miller and had six children:
2J5A. Jacob Houck (of John E. and Martha) married Alberta Stone and had Lester A. Houck* who married Virginia Nagle*
2J5B. George M. Houck (of John E. and Martha) married Sadie Valentine
2J5C. John Houck (of John E. and Martha) married Miss Fowble
2J5D. Frank Houck (of John E. and Martha)
2J5E. Elizabeth Houck (of John E. and Martha) married Charles Taylor
2J5F. Anna Rebecca Houck (of John E. and Martha) married Noah J. Long
3. Henry Allgire (of John and Ruth) died in 1845, married Mary Fowble (1784-1869) and had six children:
3A. Melchour F. Allgire (of Henry and Mary) (1819-1891) married Juliann Houck and had four children:
3A1. Mary Lucinda Allgire (of Melchour and Juliann) (1847-1906) married John Wesley Davidson and had eleven children:
3A1A. Robert L. Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Mary McAllister
3A1B. Edward F. Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Florence Bucher and had two children:
Marion A. Davidson married Virginia Switzer, Edna F. Davidson* married Lawrence Long
3A1C. Wilson W. Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Eva Basler
3A1D. Joel (Bip) Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Virginia Elseroad
3A1E. Minerva Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Edward Leister and had two sons:
Parke married Rachel Zencker and Robert E. married Leola Baker*
3A1F. Herbert B. Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) unmarried
3A1G. Ira Newton Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Lottie Merryman and had a son:
I. Watson Davidson* married Lillian Penn*
3A1H. Luther C. Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Blanche Rupp and had seven children:
Clarkson Davidson married (1) Evelyn Leister (2) Roberta Caples; Loretta Ruth Davidson married L. DeVage; Gilbert D. Davidson married Evelyn Miller; Everett A. Davidson* married Julia Bever*; Gertrude Davidson married Robert Basler; Norville E. Davidson* married Edith Shipley; and Anna Fay Davidson* married Clifford Jenkins
3A1I. Emory S. Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Bertha Jones Houck
3A1J. Allen Parke Davidson (of Mary L. and John W.) married Marguerite?
3A1K. Carroll M. Davidson (of Marv L. and John W.) married Nora Murray and had five children:
C. Herbert Davidson* married Carolyn Barton*; Marvin Davidson* married Ruth Knight; Loretta Davidson married N. Monroe Smith; Elmo Davidson married Betty Abbott; and Robert Davidson*: unmarried
3A2. William H.S. Allgire (of Melchour and Juliann) (1853-1947) married M. Katie Barrick and had a son:
3A2A. Archie Claude Allgire, Sr. (of Wm. H.S. and M. Katie) married Monza Algire and had a son Archie Claude Allgire, Jr.
3A3. Catharine J. Allgire (of Melchour and Juliann) (1856-1954) married Lewis Green, Jr. and had four children:
3A3A. Carrie Green (of Catharine and Lewis) married Fetter Newbelle
3A3B. Harland Green (of Catharine and Lewis)
3A3C. Morrill Green (of Catharine and Lewis) (unmarried)
3A3D. William Lewis Green (of Catharine and Lewis) married Beulah Raver and had four children:
Maynard Green (unmarried); Wilson Green (unmarried); Mary K. Green (unmarried); and Sterling L. Green married LaRue Merryman.
3A4. Nancy Jane Allgire (of Melchour and Juliann) married William Henry Ebaugh and moved to Peoria, Illinois in 1882.
3B. Joshua F.C. Allgire (of Henry and Mary) died 1877, married Barbara Hildebrand and had no children.
3C. Nancy Allgire (of Henry and Mary) (1821-1886) married Elisha Brown
3D. Rachel Allgire (of Henry and Mary) married David W. Houck
3E. Amon Allgire (of Henry and Mary) (1811-1884) married (1) Areann Fletter (Flater) (1813-1854) and had seven children:
3E1. William Asbury Allgire (of Amon and Areann) (1835-1909) married Emily J.
3E2. Rebecca A. AIIgire (of Amon and Areann) (born 1838) married George Taylor
3E3. Mary Ruth AIIgire (of Amon and Areann) (1846-1929) married Peter Buchman and had eight children:
3E3A. A. Johnston Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter)
3E3B. Ary Phoebe Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married Atlee W. Wampler
3E3C. Gertrude Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married (1) Mr. Hunt (2) Elmer E. Wentz
3E3D. Nora Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married George Caples
3E3E. Harvey E. Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married Goldie Wisner
3E3F. Lottie Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married Roy Spangler
3E3G. Thomas W. Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married Irene Davidson and had two sons:
Thomas W. Buchman, Jr. married Katherine Fromm and Francis Buchman married (1) Marianna Beam* (2) Helen Lula Fiedler*
3E3H. Raymond P. Buchman (of Mary R. and Peter) married Etta Bankard and had three children:
R. Charles Buchman married Jean Walker; Etta Ruth Buchman* married Jesse Heird*; and Martha Buchman married Gary Brauning.
3E4. Martha M. AIIgire (of Amon and Areann) (1849-1919) married Henry T. Myers
3E5. Barbara E. AIIgire (of Amon and Areann) married Benton Flatter
3E6. John Henry AIIgire (of Amon and Areann) (1851-1919) married Frances Ella Leppo and had seven children:
3E6A. Addie C. Allgire (of John H. and Frances) (1873-1936) married Noah W. Rill and had seven children:
Gussie Rill married William Shaffer; Lola Rill married Lester Reese; Edna Rill married W. McMillan; M. Earl Rill married (1) Erma Hughes (2) Jennie Hughes*; Hazel Rill married Albert Basler; Marshall Rill married Mary Mann; Luther Rill married Gertrude Whitney.
3E6B. Ida May Allgire (of John H. and Frances) (1876-1948) married J. Grant Dell and had ten children:
Roy C. Dell married Georgia Basford; Russell Dell married Ethel Knight; Ethel Dell married Ira Leister; Walter G. Dell married Grace Abbott; Raymond Dell married (1) Helen Greenholtz (2) Shirley Mann; Roland E. Dell* married Lamora Reese; Sterling Dell married Serepta Hughes; Eugene Dell married Anna Miller; Mary L. Dell married James W. Mann* Melvin H. Dell married Dorothy Lippy.
3E6C. Martha Allgire (of John H. and Frances) married Arthur Chew
3E6D. Mary Elizabeth Allgire (of John H. and Frances) married Garnet Spencer
3E6E. Ray Allgire (of John H. and Frances) married Charles Myers
3E6F. H. Walter Allgire, Sr. (of John H. and Frances) (1887-1941) married Amanda Leppo and had four children:
Herbert W. Allgire, Jr. (1907-1984) married Grace Elseroad*; Elmire Allgire married Emory Shaffer; John Allgire (1916-1968) unmarried; Jacob Allgire (1920 -1970) unmarried.
3E6G. Nettie Blanch Allgire (of John H. and Frances) married Vernon Spencer
3E7. Amanda J. Allgire (of Amon and Areann) married Francis L. Herring
3E. Amon Allgire (of Henry and Mary) (1811-1884) married (2) Lucinda A. T. Calanan and had three children:
3E8. Joseph P. Allgire (of Amon and Lucy) (1856-1918) married Ida S. Caple
3E9. Harry C. Allgire (of Amon and Lucy)
3E10. Rachel C. Allgire (of Amon and Lucy) married George E. Hill
3F. Lucinda Allgire (of Henry} and Mary) (1820-1871) married George Richards, Jr. and had eight children:
3F1. Rufus R. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married Mary} A.R. Gross
3F2. Sarah Kate Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married Samuel Shaner
3F3. William L. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married Mary Chew
3F4. Lucretia E. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married John W. Abbott and had two children:
3F4A. Alice Grace Abbott (of Lucretia and John W.) married William Grumbine
3F4B. Clay Abbott (of Lucretia and John W.)
3F5. Alice A. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married Mr. Gorsuch
3F6. Laura V. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married Francis Bankard and had
3F6A. Fannie Bankard (of Laura and Francis) married Charles W. Elseroad and had five children:
James Elseroad married Fannie Slorp; Mary Elseroad married Burley Elseroad; Lucinda Elseroad married Albert Stull and had Dorothy and Mary Jane Stull; John Elseroad (unmarried); and Earl Elseroad married Ruth Beam.
3F7. James B. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.)
3F8. Samuel F. Richards (of Lucinda and George, Jr.) married Mar\} Stephan
4. Cinthia Allgire (of John and Ruth) married Mr. Fowble and had a son John Fowble.
5. John Allgire (of John and Ruth) moved to Ohio prior to 1826 and married Ann
6. Jacob Allgire (of John and Ruth) moved to Ohio prior to 1826 and married Sarah
7. Ruth Allgire (of John and Ruth) married Mr. Troyer and had sons Reuben Troyer and Hanson Troyer
8. Nicholas Allgire (of John and Ruth) (1786-1870) married Matilda Ebaugh, widow of John Croft. No children were born of this marriage.
9. Lucinda Allgire (of John and Ruth) (1789-1867) married in 1843 to Captain William Houck. This was his second marriage and no children were born of this marriage.
Class Book - Members List 1861-1870
These names are listed in the Class Attendance Redord Books, Brown's Meeting House.
Mary A. Taylor
Elizabeth Stocksdale (Miss)
S. Ellen Ebaugh
Martha A. Hoffman
Emily J. Harris
William J. Hoffman
Betsy A. Taylor
Francis A. Switzer
Elizabeth Stocksdale (Mrs.)
David A. Ebaugh
James W. Taylor
Eliza J. Hoffman
John C. Beckley
Daniel W. Richards
John C. Richards
William L. Shaffer
Mary J. Leppo
Mary J. Leppo
William A. Davidson
Jacob A. Troyer
Mirium A. Troyer
James E. Waterfield
Ann C. Waterfield
William Henry Taylor
John Wesley Davidson
William L. Richards
William A. Martin
Ann R. Richardss
Mary El. Taylor
Martha E. Martin
James W. Taylor
Elexis S. Harris
William Lewis Shaffer
Ann C. Taylor
Ellen G. Fowble
Eliza Ann Harris
N. George N. Hall Brown
Joshua F.C. Allgire
Lucinda J. Taylor
Mary Ruth Allgire
Ann C. Sykes
Lewis L. Houck
Lydia J. Hildebrand
Mary R. Miller
Ann C. Miller
George L. Stocksdale
James C. Hoffman
Lewis H. Kelbaugh
John L. Taylor
Thomas F. Taylor
William H. Ebaugh
Julia A. Bucher
A. Jackson Lampart
Mary A. Zepp
Sarah C. Richards
Margaret R. Taylor
Mary Elizabeth Croft
Lucillia A. Brown
Anna Martin Harris
Sarah C. Taylor
Ann M. Taylor
William H. Taylor
Lydia C. Hoffman
Ruth A.J. Houck
Jarrerd M. Zimmern
Ruth A. Armacost
Mary E. Bucher
Martha E. Taylor
Martha J. Davidson
Claricy A. Taylor
William E. Allen
Zachariah C. Ebaugh
M. Ellen Taylor
George W. Keller
Sarah C. Shaner
Joanna R. Hildebrand
Ruth A. Troyer
Ann C. Fuhrman
George W. Horner
Elias W. Carson
[The names of the Senior Preachers are listed first, followed by the Junior Preachers.]
Allgire’s and Brown's Meeting House
1797-98....................John Bloodgood, Thomas F. Sargent
1799..........................D. HalI, A. Andrews, N. Reed, J. Smith
1800..........................Thomas Wilkerson, John Simmons
1801..........................Curtis WilIiams, John Pitts
1802..........................John Pitts, William RyIand, William Steel
1803..........................S. Bunn, T. Lucas, R. Cash, N. Willis
1804..........................Lawrence Mc Combs, Nathaniel B. MiIIs
1805.........................John BIoodgood, N. Reed, J. Reid
1806.........................Henry Smith, Daniel Fidler
1807.........................S. G. Rozel, H. Harriman
1808.........................William Ryland, Alfred Griffith
1809.........................Joshua Wells, James Reid
1810.........................Joseph Toy, Eli Towne
1811.........................Gerard Morgan, John French
1812.........................David Stevens, John W. Bond
1813.........................David Stevens, Caleb Leach
1814.........................Henry Smith, Joseph Toy
1815.........................James Paynter, Joseph Toy
1816.........................Eli Henkle, Bazil Barry
1817.........................Eli Henkle, William Butler
1818.........................Henry Smith, James Reed
1819.........................James Reed, John Childs
1820.........................Job Guest, John Childs
1821.........................James Paynter, Joseph Rowen
1822.........................Joseph Rowen, PhiIIip D. Lipsecum
1823.........................Edward Matthews, Thomas J. Dorsey
1824.........................Jacob Larkin, Edward Matthews
1825.........................Jacob Larkin, Daniel Parish
1826-27...................James SewelI, Tobias Riley
1828.........................Henry Slicer, S. Keppler
1829.........................Henry Slicer, G. G. Brooks
1830.........................Philip D. Lipsecum
1831.........................Jonathan Munroe, James Reed
1832.........................Jonathan Munroe, R. Barnes
1834.........................William Butler, Eli Nicodemus
1835.........................William Butler, J. Parker
1836.........................J. Ewing, Z. Jordan
1837.........................J. Ewing, John W. Cronin
1838.........................William Hank, John W. Cronin
1844.........................Joseph S. Morris, James H. March
1845.........................Jonathan Munroe, Charles McElfresh
1846.........................Jonathan Munroe, James Turner
1847.........................Jacob Larkin, J .5. Gorsuch
1848.........................Jacob Larkin, C. A. Reid
1849.........................C. A. Reid, D. BalI
1850.........................D. BalI, T. Daughertv
1851.........................William Hank, C. Cornelius
1852.........................William Hank, J. A. Coleman
1853.........................W. H. Laney
1854.........................J. A. Coleman
1857.........................J. Hildebrand, W. H. Elliott
1858.........................S. Wesley Price
1859.........................S. Wesley Price, J. Wesley Brown
1860.........................Daniel H. Parrish, A. S. Smith
1861.........................Daniel H. Parrish, D.A. Isenberg
1862.........................F .H. Grever
1863.........................F. H. Grever, Martin L. Smyser
1864-65...................J. Edwin Amos, Thomas Watts
1866-67...................Hugh Linn, B. F. Clarkson
1869-70...................Emory Buhrman, William M. Ferguson
1871.........................Emory Buhrman, Reuben Kolb
1872.........................J. W. Cullum, Peter Vondersmith
1873-74...................J. W. Cullum, J. B. Hall, William Barnes
1875.........................W. R. Gwinn, F. W. Shriner
1876.........................W. R. Gwinn, J. B. Hall
1877.........................Daniel Haskell, Solomon German
1878..........................Daniel Haskell, John T. Anspach
1879..........................D. Benton Winstead, Frank G. Porter
1880-81....................D. Benton Winstead, Osborne Belt
1882..........................Joseph P. Wilson, W. S. Wheeler
1883..........................Joseph P. Wilson, E. H. Smith, John B. Tope
1884..........................Joseph P. Wilson, William W. Barnes
1885...........................W. A. Koontz, W. P. Shriner, S. S. Greenwell
1886...........................T. Marshall West, E. T. Mowbray
1887-88.....................T. Marshall West, W. J. Thompson
1889-90.....................T. MarshaIl West, J. W. FIeming, J. B. Hall
1891...........................Osborne Belt, T.E. Copes, J.B. Hall
1892...........................Osborne Belt, T.E. Copes, R.R. Murphy
1893-94.....................Emory Buhrman, L. E. Dutton
1895...........................Emory Buhrman, W. D. Knight
1896-97.....................Emory Buhrman, William J. Meeks
1898...........................Henry R. Savage
1899...........................Henry R. Savage, George F. Stiles
1900...........................D. M. Browning, W.C. Butts
1901-02.....................D. M. Browning, C. Turner Jones
1903-04.....................D. M. Browning, Joseph P. Wilson
1905...........................Milson Thomas, Joseph P. Wilson
1906...........................Milson Thomas, Wilson T. Jarboe
1907-08......................Milson Thomas, L. St. Clair AlIen
1909............................Charles T. House, Frank Steelman
1910-11......................Frank Steelman, A. H. McKinley
1912-13......................Richard H. K. Gill
1914-17......................Henry Clay Hall
1918-21......................Joseph C. Sinclair
1922...........................Joseph C. Sinclair
1923...........................E. O. Pritchett (three months)
1926-31.....................Dougias R. Chandler
1931-34.....................J. Eimer Benson
1934-37.....................J . A. Haugh
1937-40.....................J. Lee Williams
1940-42.....................G. Ernest Wunder
1942-45.....................W. A. Ledford
1945-47.....................Sidney T. Fitch
1947-52.....................James H. Talley
1952-56.....................Glenn J. Cooper
1956-59.....................L. Howard Allwine
1959-62.....................James C. Haskin
1962-66.....................Ira W. Shindle
1966-74.....................Stanley G. Harrell
1974-78......................William M. BaIderson
1981............................Albert K. Lane, III
Through the 190 years covered in our listing we find 150 different ministers who have served the Church. Some came first as Senior Preachers. Some came first as Junior Preachers and stayed on as Senior. Others returned later as Junior or Senior Preachers after having served previously. It is a glorious line and Wesley Church is much in their debt.
Western Maryland College was founded in 1868 and the Westminster Theological Seminary in 1882 on the college campus. Both were founded by the Maryland Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church. Prior to 1958, when the Seminary was moved to Washington, D.C. and renamed Wesley Theological Seminary, we were fortunate to have many Seminary students supply our pulpit.
The people of Wesley are proud to have Chester W. Rill, son of Mrs. Jennie Rill and the late M. Earl Rill, enter the ministry under the pastorate of the Rev. James H. Talley. Chester remains a full member of the Baltimore Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church.
Special Life Membership Awards
1955....................Mrs. Marshall Richards
1961....................Mrs. Raymond P. Buchman
1962....................Mrs. Georgia Wagner
1963....................Miss Lethia Beam - Mrs. Edith Reed
1964....................Mrs. Norville Baker - Mrs. Robert Leister
1965....................Mrs. John D. Rill - Mrs. Emory E. Rill - Mr. Raymond P. Buchman
1966....................Mrs. Wilford E. Barnes - Mrs. Henry A. Miller
1967....................Mrs. Wallace W. Lippy - Mr. Norville E. Baker
1968....................Mrs. A. Elmer Stocksdale - Mr. A. Paul Garrett
1969....................Mrs. Peter H. Blum - Mrs. John W. Singer
1970....................Mrs. A. Paul Garrett -Mrs. Harry L. Weaver
1971....................Mrs. Jesse W. Heird - Mr. Lester Houck - Mrs. Herbert Allgire - Mrs. Harry Murray
1972....................Mrs. Luther R. Hoffman - Mr. Wallace W. Lippy
1973....................Mrs. Edgar Rhoten - Mrs. Howard Horner
1974....................Mrs. Parker Miller - Mrs. Claude Stansbury - Mrs. Lester Houck - Mr. John W. Rill
1975....................Mr. Robert Leister - Mrs. Jennie Rill
1976....................Mrs. Bobby Kennedy - Mr. Howard Horner
1977....................Mr. Wilford E. Barnes - Mrs. Robert E. Porterfield
1978....................Mr. Herbert Allgire -Mrs. Norville E. Davidson
1979....................Mrs. Alvin P. Rill - Mr. Norville E. Davidson
1980....................Mr. and Mrs. J. Francis Harris
1981....................Mrs. Martha Harris - Mr. George R. Brooks
1982....................Mrs. Beulah Blevins - Mr. Harry L. Murray
1983....................Mrs. Audrey Johnson - Mr. Gordon Benson
1984....................Mr. and Mrs. Walter Hitchcock
1985....................Mrs. Robert Gunnarsson - Rev. Albert K. Lane, III
Alphabetical List of members as of October 1, 1986 [Not published online.]